1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 and old Viewsonic Monitor

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by vemtira, Jul 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vemtira

    vemtira Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Ok, no laughing when you read this.....I just bought a new Dell 660 computer that has Windows 7 on it. I can't get my monitor to work on it. Ok, so don't laugh, but it has been a good monitor that was manufactured in 1997......Viewsonic E771.....you know the old, bulky thing. I told myself that I would not buy a new one until this one died. I'm on my third computer with this monitor. Can I get this thing to work with my new Dell?
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,997
    First Name:
    Terry
    What's the latest driver for that relic? XP? Whatever it is if it is in the form of a self-extracting self-installing .exe you can try installing it in Compatibility mode. But I seriously doubt that will work.

    When I got rid of (sold with PC) my last CRT monitor I told myself I'd never again have a CRT monitor in the house. :) Same for TV.
     
  4. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Monitor drivers are not drivers as such. All they are is two files that tell your existing graphics card how to treat the monitor.
    The first is a list of the resolutions and frequencies that the monitor supports.
    The second is the colour profile of the monitor that tells the graphics card how to adjust the colours.
    Neither of these is absolutely necessary. If you know the first, you can manually set them. The second you can adjust manually in the graphics setting afterwards.

    That monitor supports 1280x1024 @ 66Hz as a maximum.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1103191

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice