1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Asus laptop cannot "Identify" Wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Luke1, Oct 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Hello all. My laptop normally always works on the wireless network, but every now and then its randomly stopped working and said "identifying network" followed by "could not identify network, unidentified network." When i would troubleshoot it would say stuff about the default gateway and not a valid ip address. THis was fine because it would always just start working on its own in a day or so. However these arnt coming up when i do the troubleshoot this time, and its been over a week and no improvement.

    I really need help to fix it as i have no idea what im doing at all.
    Any help would be greatly appriciated, and help in simple langauge would be even better :)

    Im obviously writing this from the desktop. and the stats below are the desktop stats.





    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 6135 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 465, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 437284 MB;
    Motherboard: MSI, MSI X58 Pro-E (MS-7522), 3.0, To be filled by O.E.M.
    Antivirus: Trend Micro Titanium Maximum Security 2012, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    My wireless modem is a "D-link dir-600 wireless 150"
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
  4. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    on the laptop or the desktop?
     
  5. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    It didnt work. Ive also tried going to a friends house and it can connect to his network, and he came here and his laptop couldnt connect to my wireless
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    The problem PC.
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Then it's likely a problem with the wireless signal.

    Try power cycling.

    How To Power Cyle

    “Power Cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router.

    1) Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.

    2) Wait at least 30 seconds.

    3) Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.

    4) First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.

    5) Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.

    6) Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
     
  8. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for this mate :)

    OKay i tried that, i have full signal, but it still wont identify the network. im troubleshooting now to see if it says anything.
    The trouble shoot came up and said" "Wireless network connection doesn't have a valid IP configuration."
    and "Problem with wireless adapter or access point"
     
  9. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  10. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    it wont let me post
     
  11. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    lol i knew that would happen. basically it still doesnt work, i wont type much as the page freezes and i have to get out of it.
    same not valid IP config message as before and cant indentify
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    You tried the directions in post#9?
     
  13. Luke1

    Luke1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    yeah on both computers, the desktop and the laptop (the laptop is the one with the problem)
     
  14. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    You just want to do these things on the problem PC, there's no need to "fix" a working machine.

    Click Start.

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter.

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    If you have no internet connection on the problem PC, transferring the screenshot via flashdrive or CD to a working computer is possible. If this is not practical for you, a detailed listing of the requested information will suffice, along with reports of any ! ? or X's next to the entries.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024616

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice