Windows 7 Connects to local network ok, but No Internet Access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nikitajoseph

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
6
Windows 7 Connects to local network ok, but No Internet Access, i tried to reset dns, tcp/ip, but the same problem appear, but when I'm trying using modem, internet is working fine..
i get the yellow triangle with exclamation point in the taskbar saying "No Internet Access". I've tried shutting off the firewall, setting the connection to public, etc. with no change. I've also gone through the Windows Network Diagnostic process and it says... "local Area Connection 2 doesn't have a valid IP Configuration"

please help
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
do you have any other PCs connected and working
but when I'm trying using modem, internet is working fine..
can you explain - do you have a separate modem router setup - or do you mean when connected by cable it works - when connected by wireless it does not ?

can we see an ipconfig /all

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

then type CMD

then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Nikitajoseph

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
6
when i connect by using cable its does't work but when i use a modem wiress its work fine

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : conference-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros L2 Fast Ethernet 10/100Base-T Con
troller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-11-76-1A-18
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cd7e:fcff:2aa6:66ae%14(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.102.174(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 285222161
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-A5-FC-03-00-0E-E8-E9-40-B1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{F6951447-A051-447B-9CE5-FCBF613BFFB5}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Windows\system32>
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
but when i use a modem wiress its work fine
is this a 3G device connecting to the mobile network - can you post make and the model

theres no wireless adapter shown on the PC - should it have wireless ?

on ethernet no IP -

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

would you do a tcp/ip reset
------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Nikitajoseph

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
6
this a 3G device connecting to the mobile network
HUAWEI Mobile Broadband
model: Huawe EC122
cdma1x evdo Rev.a Usb stick
FCC ID Q1SEC122

I don't have any ant- virus,
here is tcp/ip reset
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog
Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
There's no user specified settings to be reset.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
There's no user specified settings to be reset.

C:\Windows\system32>
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
so you want to connect by a cable to a local router and get internet

whats the make and model of the router you are connecting to ?
any other device connected to the router and working

is the router separate from a modem - if so make and model of the modem
who is the ISP for the router broadband
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
so we need to have answers to the questions i posted
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
Windows 7 Connects to local network ok, but No Internet Access,
the local network, i'm trying to find out a little bit about it

the router is where you plug the PC into to get internet
and some routers also need to have a modem connected to them and the modem is connected to the telephone line or a special cable thats brought into the house - may also provide the TV via cable

whats the make and model of the router you are connecting to ?
any other device connected to the router and working

is the router separate from a modem - if so make and model of the modem
who is the ISP for the router broadband
 

Nikitajoseph

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
6
i was there at the office, in my office i use port to connect via network cable.. i was trying to ask some people, they told me cisco router is the one which they are using, but if connect another pc to that port which i told you about, internet its working fine expect the pc i use,
there is no another router which are separate, from modem.

the ISP for the router is SIMBANET HERE IN TANZANIA
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
is this a business - if so , it would be best to talk to an IT dept or person responsible for your office setup
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top