1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Connects to local network ok, but No Internet Access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nikitajoseph, Feb 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nikitajoseph

    Nikitajoseph Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Windows 7 Connects to local network ok, but No Internet Access, i tried to reset dns, tcp/ip, but the same problem appear, but when I'm trying using modem, internet is working fine..
    i get the yellow triangle with exclamation point in the taskbar saying "No Internet Access". I've tried shutting off the firewall, setting the connection to public, etc. with no change. I've also gone through the Windows Network Diagnostic process and it says... "local Area Connection 2 doesn't have a valid IP Configuration"

    please help
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,881
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have any other PCs connected and working
    can you explain - do you have a separate modem router setup - or do you mean when connected by cable it works - when connected by wireless it does not ?

    can we see an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Nikitajoseph

    Nikitajoseph Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    when i connect by using cable its does't work but when i use a modem wiress its work fine

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : conference-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros L2 Fast Ethernet 10/100Base-T Con
    troller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-11-76-1A-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cd7e:fcff:2aa6:66ae%14(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.102.174(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 285222161
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-A5-FC-03-00-0E-E8-E9-40-B1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F6951447-A051-447B-9CE5-FCBF613BFFB5}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,881
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this a 3G device connecting to the mobile network - can you post make and the model

    theres no wireless adapter shown on the PC - should it have wireless ?

    on ethernet no IP -

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    would you do a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Nikitajoseph

    Nikitajoseph Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    this a 3G device connecting to the mobile network
    HUAWEI Mobile Broadband
    model: Huawe EC122
    cdma1x evdo Rev.a Usb stick
    FCC ID Q1SEC122

    I don't have any ant- virus,
    here is tcp/ip reset
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog
    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,881
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so you want to connect by a cable to a local router and get internet

    whats the make and model of the router you are connecting to ?
    any other device connected to the router and working

    is the router separate from a modem - if so make and model of the modem
    who is the ISP for the router broadband
     
  7. Nikitajoseph

    Nikitajoseph Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    yes i want to connect by using cable
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,881
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so we need to have answers to the questions i posted
     
  9. Nikitajoseph

    Nikitajoseph Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    am new in this technolgy my dear so i can't understand, what kind of router am using
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,881
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the local network, i'm trying to find out a little bit about it

    the router is where you plug the PC into to get internet
    and some routers also need to have a modem connected to them and the modem is connected to the telephone line or a special cable thats brought into the house - may also provide the TV via cable

    whats the make and model of the router you are connecting to ?
    any other device connected to the router and working

    is the router separate from a modem - if so make and model of the modem
    who is the ISP for the router broadband
     
  11. Nikitajoseph

    Nikitajoseph Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    i was there at the office, in my office i use port to connect via network cable.. i was trying to ask some people, they told me cisco router is the one which they are using, but if connect another pc to that port which i told you about, internet its working fine expect the pc i use,
    there is no another router which are separate, from modem.

    the ISP for the router is SIMBANET HERE IN TANZANIA
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,881
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this a business - if so , it would be best to talk to an IT dept or person responsible for your office setup
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088672

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice