1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 does not recognize Administrator

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by LeLe, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LeLe

    LeLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    I did a quick search on this site on "Administrator not reconized" and found the only threads mentioning this problem have both been closed.

    My problem is that in trying to download the entire HP driver/software disc for my hp printer psc 1350 series, I was not able to download the entire software, because I did not have Administrator's rights, etc, even though I was the only Administrator (and sole user of this computer at that time).

    I did some research online and followed one suggestion that I followed, which was to change the setting by going to Start, typing 'cmd' in search field, and typing in 'net user administrator /active:yes.' This created another "Administrator" user, which I am now finding quite useless, since many of my programs have already been downloaded on my first "Administrator" status.

    I need to know how to remove the last one I created (Administrator), if possible. As it stands right now, the one I had before is the only one with the option to delete. (Ugh!) In any case, even having the second Administrator user status, will not allow me to download the above mentioned software completely. So, I went full circle with the same problem, with no solution.

    Any help would be greatly appreciate to - 1) Remove the second Administrator user, and 2) how to get Windows 7 to allow me to download the above mentioned. BTW, I have already tried right-clicking the disc drive (setup file) and clicked "Run as Administrator" - all to no avail. Nothing seems to work. I really need help.

    LeLe

    BTW: My computer is a desktop Dell Inspiron, with Windows 7 preloaded.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    You needn't be an Administrator to download a file, so it may be a problem with the folder to which you are trying to save it. Try downloading to your desktop.

    I believe that ''net user administrator /active:yes" activates the special built in Administrator account; it does not create another user account with administrator privileges. You do not want to remove that, even if you could.
     
  3. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    You can use the same command line to turn off the default Administrator account simply by replacing "yes" with "no".

    Or you can do it through computer management console users and groups snapin.

    To me, it is ill advised to run routinely as a member of the Administrators Group. If you should stumble onto some new nasty bit of code it will automatically have Administrator rights to your computer.
     
  4. LeLe

    LeLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Thank you both for responding. Each gave valuable information that will be very useful to me. Bbearren gave me the exact help I needed to de-activate the built-in Administrator. The only reason I had gone that route was to see if under that User status (built-in Administrator) that I would be able to fully download the HP software for my 1350 psc printer. What I failed to mention before is that the full download failed even under the 'built-in' Administrator status. I receive this message each attempt:

    This software cannot be installed using the 'Run as...' command. The installation cannot continue until this is resolved.

    Required Action: Click Cancel to exit this software installation. Log off and then log on as a user with administrator privileges. (Contact your system administrator for more information.) If there is no system administrator, have the primary user of this computer install the software. Restart the installation by removing and re-inserting this installation CD.


    The printer does print, so the driver must have been installed, but the remaining software is not allowed because of the above message. The remaining portion not installed is HP Photo Manager, etc. (Software I really need for my work.)

    If you can find a solution for me, I would be most appreciative.

    Thank you!

    LeLe
     
  5. calvin-c

    calvin-c Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Have you contacted HP about this issue? If the software is compatible with Windows 7 then it should work using the Windows 7 Run As Administrator option.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    The error message you quote is from an attempt to install something (not a download), apparently from the CD that came with the printer. Chances are, unless it is a pretty recently released printer, the CD does not contain Windows 7 software.

    You should download and then install the Windows 7 package from HP's web site. I thought that is what you were doing with your download attempts? If there is no Windows 7 package you can try the Vista one.

    The HP web site is not working right for me at the moment, so I did not get far in looking myself.
     
  7. Ent

    Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,407
    According to this on the HP website, the only available Windows 7 drivers for the psc 1350 are included in Windows (both 32 and 64 bit) by default. It is unfortunately true that the OS-packaged drivers don't necessarily allow you to use all of the functionality of the printer. Is that what you were after, or am I missing something?

    There are Vista drivers (Page), but I wont be the one to advise using them while there is a Win-7 specific driver as an option.
     
  8. TRS-80 vet

    TRS-80 vet

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,148
    I had a similar problem, which I solved by changing ownership of some directories and sub-directories. This is about the only time I ever downloaded a file to do a task - I prefer command line, or direct registry editing.

    I don't know that it will solve your issue, and it's reversible if it doesn't work... Link
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976748