1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Freezing And Restarting

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Sporn, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Dell XPS Studio 8100. Only a few months old... Seems to randomly freeze, the majority of the time seems to be whilst a flash website was being used, though not always? If that could be why.

    I also never managed to get the wireless connection working properly, is using a wired connection from an old laptop currently if there's a chance that might have something to do with it.

    It's getting rather annoying, happens once every 2 or 3 days currently. Sorry if you need more info.. :) just thought I'd check incase theres something maybe obvious wrong first.

    Thanks.
     
  2. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Follow the below Instructions Carefully:

    1. Download Hijack this from the link.

    (Choose the installer of HJT—Hijack This)

    2. Run a Scan.

    DO NOT FIX ANYTHING BY YOURSELF.

    (Doing so when NOT Instructed Might cause Unwanted System Instability, BSOD's and Even Render your System Unusable)

    3. Save a Log file (On your Desktop)

    4. Copy and Paste all the contents.

    5. Paste them in the Reply Window.

    I am NOT an Authorized Malware Remover.

    The Log is requested by me only for Optimization Purposes, troubleshooting and removing applications that are causing various problems such as Crashing, BSOD’s and Freezing and helping the poster remove any incompatible application/program and driver.

    I will therefore NOT help if anything related to Malware is found in your log.

    The thread will then be moved to the Malware Removal Forums for expert assistance.
     
  3. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    OK, thank you. Will do so. :)
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Also take a look and see if any minidumps have been created

    you will find them here They are located in C:\WINDOWS\Minidump

    Copy the last 3 and compress them zip or Rar and Go Advanced in your post then Manage Attachments and post them
     
  5. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Ah ok :) there was an error when I started which is there also. And it wouldn't copy into word pad =/ sorry I hope the images are ok to use. :)


    :) thanks, there was only one file in the Minidumb folder. I added that too. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Your minidump is inconclusive but maybe hardware related

    As for HijackThis try right clicking on it and Run as Administrator
     
  7. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    I tried right clicking it but I couldn't find an option to do so. :( Wasn't sure if there was any other way.
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You mean if you right click on the Hijack program Icon you do not have the choice to Run as Administrator....do you have that option on other program shotcuts?
     
  9. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Yeah, all other programs except HiJackThis and iTunes give me the option. :(
     
  10. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Follow the Instructions Very Carefully:
    1. Go to “The Desktop”
    2. Use the Shortcut “Win Key + R”
    3. The “Run Windows will come up”.
    4. Type “msconfig” in the box that comes up.
    5. A “New Window” will come up.
    6. Navigate to the “Startup Tab”.
    7. Untick the follow items carefully:

    updreg.exe

    jusched.exe

    Reader_sl.exe

    AdobeARM.exe

    QTTask.exe

    ItunesHelper.exe

    GoogleUpdate.exe

    You need to be the administrator to do this.
    updreg.exe,is I think the Registration Component from Creative Labs.
    Many people do say that updreg.exe causes some problems
     
  11. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Have done all that, thank you. :) Should this be all I need to do?
     
  12. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Please post he HJT log ,sporn
     
  13. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    :) Ah ok. Again sorry for the images, can't get it to copy to notepad still :/
     

    Attached Files:

  14. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Also post the uninstall log
    Can't get anything from here
     
  15. Sporn

    Sporn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Ah ok, sorry if I'm being dumb but what's the uninstall log?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921074

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice