Solved Windows 7 freezing/locking up for no apparent reason

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
Having to post this from a tablet as the PC is currently unusable due to this issue
Basically what happens is the PC boots and all seems normal till you enter the user password. Then it takes longer to load the desktop than it used to and, although the mouse responds, clicking on a program to run has no visible result. Watching in task manager you see it start then it drops out.
After a few minutes the PC becomes unresponsive then shortly after this the mouse freezes. At this point the only solution is to reboot.
Nothing in the event logs look odd - the only anomaly I've found is that Resource Manager is listing 100 hard faults in the memory section so as I write this I have Memtest86 running on the machine from an Ubuntu install CD.

Can anyone suggest a likely cause for this as its causing me a lot of aggro.

PC Specs
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3014 MHz
Memory: 8191 Mb SDRAM - all slots full
Video: Nvidia
Motherboard: Asus

Disk #1: Western Digital 1 Tb - C:\
Disk #2: Western Digital 1 Tb - D:\
Disk #3: Western Digital 1 Tb - E:\

1.44Mb Floppy - A:\
CD-ROM: - G:\
DVD R/W: - F:\

I tried to install Ubuntu to be able to access the files I need - that got to the final step of seeking the hard drives and then that froze up. Rebooting and trying again got these error message - no idea if they are related:
17179569.632000 - MP- BIOS bug: 8254. Timer not connected to IO-APIC

17179569.988000 - cannot allocate resource region 3 of 0000:00:00.0
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,476
I tried to install Ubuntu to be able to access the files I need...
Can I assume from this you're trying to access the files so you can back them up before wiping Win 7? If so, have you tried running it as a Linux Live environment instead of doing an installation? For jobs like this, I'll often use a simple Linux distro, such as Puppy Linux, and load it from a flash drive (no installation). Once the OS is running, I'll use the built-in file manager to peruse the discs and then copy over the required files to a backup drive.
 

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
No - I am trying to get Win-7 up and running again. All the data is currently accessible by Windows based programs. Things like Dreamweaver, Outlook etc

The Ubuntu is because I've been considering going to a dual boot system for a while now to investigate a 100% move. So I thought I'd try to install it and see if it ran OK thus ruling out hardware. It didn't install so I guess somewhere I have a hardware fault.

Right now, in view of the 100 hard faults shown in Windows Resource Manager, Memcheck has been running for 15 hours and showing no sign of finishing.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
The memory test needs to be run overnight or for at least 8 passes.
It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram and test each Ram stick one at a time and test them in different slots.
======
Check and post
TSG System Information Utility - found here.
http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
23,730
100 hard faults
Do you mean harddrive faults?
If so, don't waste time. Get your files off while the drive is still accessible and then replace the hard drive. The faults will just keep increasing. There is no safe repair for a failing hard drive.
 

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
Do you mean harddrive faults?
If so, don't waste time. Get your files off while the drive is still accessible and then replace the hard drive. The faults will just keep increasing. There is no safe repair for a failing hard drive.
No - this was in the memory section of Resource Manager.
 

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
So - system has completed 8 passes in Memtest with no errors. This is with all 4 of the 2Gb modules in place.
Going to re-run on the individual modules but I "think" memory is OK. PSU seems OK as does CPU and temperatures as the system has been running more or less continuously for 90 hours. I would have expected a problem in any of these to have caused a shut down?
I notice that on logon it takes nigh on twice as long for the desktop to appear and once it loads the desktop shows a load of grey squares where icons should be and these refresh slowly - 1 or 2 at a time.
The other point of note is every so often after logging on all you get is a black screen with the mouse icon. Mouse icon responds to the mouse but clicking where icon should be - I.e. Start - does nothing. Only recourse is to hit the reboot button.

I managed to run the SysInfo tool in safe mode - results are:


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+, AMD64 Family 15 Model 67 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 8190 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6450, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 698 GB (178 GB Free); D: 465 GB (218 GB Free); E: 465 GB (182 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-MA770-UD3
Antivirus: Malwarebytes, Enabled and Updated
 
Last edited:

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
Let us have the make and model number of your pc.


Will it not start up and continue to run in normal mode?
Unfortunately - there is no make or model as I built it myself about 5 years or so ago.

No - that's the whole problem!! In normal mode within a couple of minutes of logging on the system freezes to the point the only solution is the hard reset or power off.
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,476
Do you have a backup of the files on the profile in question? If so, I'd recommend deleting the profile, rebooting, and then re-creating it. Do you have access to the built-in Administrator account?
 

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
So - back on-line at last. Ubuntu 18.04.1 is now installed on a spare maxtor 160 Gb disk and working well as a back up O/S to Win-7.
I ran memory checks on the 8 Gb in total and on each of the 2 Gb modules in each of the 4 slots as suggested. All passed. next step was to get into msconfig.exe and clear out the start processes and taks complely. This has now got Win-7 running as it should so obvioulsy the issue lies within either the start-up processes or taks.
Next step is to start adding them back a block at a time to find the one causing the issue!
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
Antivirus: Malwarebytes, Enabled and Updated
The above report may be incorrect as Malwarebytes, is not an anti-virus program.
What anti-virus program do you have installed?

Download Security Check by screen317 from.
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/securitycheck/
Save it to your Desktop.
Right click the install icon and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad.
Copy and Paste the result of the scan in the reply box below.

The saved log will be called checkup.txt.
 

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
The above report may be incorrect as Malwarebytes, is not an anti-virus program.
What anti-virus program do you have installed?

Download Security Check by screen317 from.
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/securitycheck/
Save it to your Desktop.
Right click the install icon and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad.
Copy and Paste the result of the scan in the reply box below.

The saved log will be called checkup.txt.
The installed program is AVG Internet Security, version 18.6.3066, definition file 180907-6. I disabled malwarebytes from within msconfig.exe.

The Security Check application has been sat on "Performing system health check for the best part of an hour - as/when/if it ever finishes (probably seconds after I hit the "post reply" button) I will post the results up.
 

RangerNeil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
12
Told you it would end almost as soon as I hit "post reply"!!


Results of screen317's Security Check version 1.014 --- 12/23/15
Windows 7 Service Pack 1 x64 (UAC is enabled)
Internet Explorer 11
``````````````Antivirus/Firewall Check:``````````````
Windows Firewall Enabled!
Malwarebytes
AVG Antivirus
Antivirus up to date! (On Access scanning disabled!)
`````````Anti-malware/Other Utilities Check:`````````
AVG PC TuneUp 2015
AVG PC TuneUp 2015 (en-US)
AVG PC Tuneup
AVG PC TuneUp 2015
Sun Java Studio Creator 2 Update 1
Java 8 Update 181
Java(TM) SE Development Kit 6 Update 10
Java version 32-bit out of Date!
Adobe Flash Player 30.0.0.154
Adobe Reader 9 Adobe Reader out of Date!
Google Chrome (68.0.3440.106)
Google Chrome (SetupMetrics...)
````````Process Check: objlist.exe by Laurent````````
AVG Antivirus AVGSvc.exe
AVG Antivirus afwServ.exe
AVG Antivirus x64 aswidsagenta.exe
AVG Antivirus AVGUI.exe
`````````````````System Health check`````````````````
Total Fragmentation on Drive C: 3%
````````````````````End of Log``````````````````````
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Update Java and Adobe Reader.
AVG PC Tuneup
Do not use any tuneup/optimizing program/application as they can cause more problems than they solve.
======
Give us an update as to how the pc is running.
======
Run System File Checker.
Click on Start - Search - Type cmd
Right click on cmd.exe - select Run as Administrator.
At the Command Prompt window - Type
sfc /scannow
Press Enter.

Let it run to completion - but do not close the cmd window.
To save the log file.
Copy and Paste the following in Command Prompt.
findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log >%userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt
Press Enter

On your desktop you will see a text file called sfcdetails.txt
It can take 2-3 runs of system file checker for all files to be replaced/repaired.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top