1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 installation error

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Zettus, Nov 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zettus

    Zettus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    I've been recently trying to do a clean install of Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit. I've tried doing many different procedures hoping for the best. I've determined my HDD is not defective, the installation disc is just fine as well. Hopefully I'm posting this in the right section of the forums.

    Here is some more information which will give you an idea of what my problem could be:
    Motherboard: ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO
    Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 1333Mhz 2x4GB

    I've done a clean install of 32 bit Windows 7 Home Premium and it worked just fine, but for some reason 64bit isn't wanting to install properly. Not to mention I even failed installing 32bit for a second time. It gives me error code 0x80070570 which I researched a bit and tried a few things but I couldn't find the problem. In BIOS I attempted to change SATA configuration to AHCI, but when I reached boot menu it still said IDE (default).

    I have 2 possibilities to be my problem (ones I thought of).

    1. A defective memory module
    I wouldn't like to resort to buying a new one unless I'm positive that's the only way.

    2. Something wrong with my BIOS sata configuration.
    I'm not sure if this is possible but it could be.

    I've checked all my hardware and all the SATA cables seem to be fine and everything else in place. Hopefully I will be able to install Windows 7 soon :).
     
  2. LagunaGTO

    LagunaGTO Account Closed

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Have you just attempted a different SATA cable?
     
  3. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Have you got anything overclocked, if so reset it to default.

    Is it a burned copy of Windows or a genuine Microsoft disc, if you burned it then make another copy and burn at a slower speed.

    Run a test on your hard drive and memory as follows.

     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025037

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice