Windows 7 installation problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rmathews123

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
4
Recently, my samsung rv520 laptop had its hard drive stop working. I bought a new completely blank hard drive and tried to install windows 7. It would get to a point where I could select the hard drive, but there would always be an error before it could start downloading. After a couple minutes of fiddling with it I decided to give up and search the internet, but so far nothing has helped me. Now though, it is even more frustrating. When I boot up the install dvd it gets to that point where I could select it, except now it isn't there anymore. I can't seem to find anything of use so far. I am tired and quite annoyed at this point, and I really hope I didn't mess up this new hard drive. If somebody could please shed some light on this situation it would be very helpful.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
Hi,is the new hard drive same make as the old one,are you booting from the windows 7 install disc?
 

Rmathews123

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
4
Hi,is the new hard drive same make as the old one,are you booting from the windows 7 install disc?
Sorry about the delayed reply. The new hard drive is the same size as the old one, and is also manufacured by samsung, it just has more memory than before. The old one was 640 gb and the bew one is 1 tb
I was unable to find my original windows 7 install/ repair disc, so I have a disc with the windows 7 installer iso burnt on to it.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,047
The problem is not with the new hard drive. The problem is with the disc you're using that was created with a Windows 7 .iso file.

Where did you get that .iso file from?

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,047
It's my guess you extracted the contents of the .iso file and then burned its files to a disc.

You need to burn the .iso file to a disc and make the disc bootable.

If it's done properly and the optical drive is listed first in the boot order in the BIOS, a Press any key to boot from CD or DVD command will appear when you boot from the disc.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

You do have a COA sticker with the 25-character product key on that computer to activate it after it's installed?

-------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Rmathews123

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
4
Yes, I have a cd-key on the back of my laptop. I have my computer set so it boots the cd before anything else and I have had that message appear.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top