1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Installer can't see Drive C: ????

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by robhankins, Aug 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I am on XP. I have some virus that Norton can't find, Exterminate-IT can't find and PrVX can't find. I am trying to install Windows 7 but the installer can't see my drive c:

    Drive C: is working fine and is my system drive.

    I have tried Windows 7 Ultimate and now Windows 7 Pro. Neither can see my c: drive.

    I am offered to install to two other internal drives but don't want to do that. I want to keep my system drive as c:

    Microsoft tech support told me to contact a local tech at my own expense??? Wow!!!

    I used the MS Upgrade Advisor program and it read my c: drive fine.

    Can anyone help?? My blood pressure is thru the roof.
     
  2. johnebadbak

    johnebadbak

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,707
    check in the bios and make sure the drive in question is connected to a controller sata or ide?? and enabled (connected)
     
  3. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,253
    It's odd that the Windows Setup doesn't see your C drive. How big is it?
     
  4. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    The drive is 250gb with 150gb available. I have worked on c: drive every day for over five years. I know it exists.
     
  5. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    In explorer, I see all drives. I wiil check in bios.
     
  6. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Yes, I went to the BIOS and sure enough the IDE slave for drive C: is NOT detected.

    Now, can anyone tell me how to correct this? Please!

    Thanks,
    Rob
     
  7. johnebadbak

    johnebadbak

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,707
    take note of commands in the bios window usually a menu is available if not highlight the controller and press enter then a menu to enable the controller is available you will use the arrow key to highlight the ide controller and again press enter then esc key to get out of the menus. don't for get to F10 save settings and exit ..
     
  8. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I appreciate the information but the c: drive slave is "NOT DETECTED". It's not a matter of enabling. It is just not detected. Obviously, this is the reason I am unable to install Windows 7 to this drive.

    There is no command available that seems to detect it. All settings are now on "auto".

    Are there jumpers on the physical drive that need to be changed, is the controller bad? I am not very good at this.

    Thanks again for any help.
    Rob
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Do you have a second drive on the same IDE connector as the drive that has your C: partition? If not, it won't be detected. In any case, that has nothing to do with the C: partition being detected, unless you have C: on a slave drive.
     
  10. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I have worked for three weeks on this and am giving up. I just don't know enough to get it done. I have to call a technician in the Plano, Tx area. The Windows 7 still can't see my c: drive!!! So frustrating.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,606
    How many hard drives do you have on the system? I'm guessing only one, but certainly not sure of that.

    What partitions do you have on each hard drive, and what is in each?

    Showing a disk management screen shot, as in my attachment, would help us understand you answer to the above questions.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I have 3 physical drives (250mb=C:, 250mb=D: and 500Mb=G:)
     
  13. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    /Users/user/Pictures/iPhoto Library/Originals/2010/Aug 20, 2010/Disk Management Shot.jpg
     
  14. robhankins

    robhankins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I have attached a screen shot of my disk management. Please note that drive C: is NOT SHOWN???? I have no extra partitions on any drives and use Drive c: for all programs, Windows XP and all activities. Why is it not shown??
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,606
    It's pretty obvious that you must be booted to the drive "Disk 1," which is not showing for some reason. I don't know the reason, but suspect that it's what Elvandil was talking about in post # 9.

    I won't even venture a guess as to the fix, but it seems to be a matter of what hard drives are connected to which controllers and which are master and which are slave.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/943117