1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 isn't booting

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by raidkridley, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raidkridley

    raidkridley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Hello all.

    I have a Dell Inspiron E1505 with Windows 7 (32bit) and it's not
    booting. I tried safe mode with and without networking as well as the
    startup repair and system restore options.

    Startup Repair basically said that it couldn't repair this computer
    automatically and this:

    Problem Event Name: StartupRepairOffline
    Problem Signature 01: 6.1.7600.16385
    Problem Signature 02: 6.1.7600.16385
    Problem Signature 03: unknown
    Problem Signature 04: 21201077
    Problem Signature 05: AutoFailover
    Problem Signature 06: 13
    Problem Signature 07: 0x50
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033

    System Restore said that it couldn't access a file and something about
    anti-virus as well as "An unspecified error occurred duing System
    Restore. (0x80070005)"


    Seems like my only bet is to do something with Command Prompt... but I
    seriously don't have the slightest clue as to what. Any help would be
    greatly appreciated Tech Support Forums. Thanks.
     
  2. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
  3. raidkridley

    raidkridley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    My computer isn't booting...


    Method 2 is literally all I can and have been trying.
     
  4. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Hi,
    Just curious, did your laptop come with Win7? or did you do a clean install from XP to Win?
    I just wondered because I thought originaly this laptop came with XP and 512MB RAM but I could be mistaken.

    Ray
     
  5. raidkridley

    raidkridley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    It came with Vista and I upgraded to Windows 7. 512MB sounds right.
     
  6. w7pro

    w7pro

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    255
  7. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    From .cmd prompt try this exactly as I wrote it:
    chkdsk /r if it has to restart to work that is fine.
     
  8. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975558

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice