1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 keeps rebooting.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Devika, Jan 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    I did a system restore yester and now my computer keeps rebooting itself and won't even go to the login screen.. I started in Safe Mode and did nothing, same result - Keeps rebooting. I get an error message saying "Floppy diskette error" I have a HP W2338H with windows 7. Desperately need help.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    Go into bios and set the CdRom first and Hard drive second in boot order..save and exit.....also does this PC have a floppy?

    This can also happen if the PC cannot find the Hard drive with the operating system on it.
     
  3. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    I tried this and it did the same. :mad:
     
  4. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    No, this PC does not have a floppy.
     
  5. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Message =Windows faild to start. a recent software or hardware change might be the cause.
     
  6. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    THe only thing that I can think of is that my daughter uploaded some songs to her MP3 player and she unhooked it after she was done.
     
  7. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Is this a desktop and did you have any disc that came with it?
     
  8. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Yes, this is a desktop and I have two discs that I created.
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    In bios does it mention a floopy disk and is it disabled?

    See also if there is a default setting you can use
     
  10. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Dear Megabite,
    floppy diskette a: [1.44MB 3.5"] is enabled
     
  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Ok try set it disabled and save and exit
     
  12. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Dear Megabite,
    This did not work either. :(
     
  13. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Same error message?
     
  14. Devika

    Devika Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    19
  15. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Go back into Bios and see if it still is disabled
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974727

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice