1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 networking question

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dannyyoung, Apr 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dannyyoung

    dannyyoung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Hi everyone, I have a wireless network at home which is extended using a Netgear Powerline. When I connect to the original wireless network (SKY60571) I have no problem getting internet access, as per the attached thumbnail (SKY60571 - working).

    I am trying to troubleshoot my extended portion of the network (NETGEAR), as this shows as as an Unidentified Network and has no internet access - please see the other attached thumbnail (NETGEAR - not working).

    My question is, how do I change the NETGEAR network type to Home? I want the settings for NETGEAR in Windows 7 Network and Sharing Centre to be the same as SKY60571 but I cannot find a way to do this.

    Please help... and thanks for reading :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dannyyoung

    dannyyoung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Just wanted to bump this up with a little more info - I have two laptops here, and the situation has resolved itself on one of them (HP) but is still apparent on the other (Dell). Can anyone offer me any advice please?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's start by seeing this for the failing machine.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. dannyyoung

    dannyyoung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Hi JohnWill, thanks for your reply. So I have two machines running, and am working from the HP machine (which is attached to the NETGEAR network with Internet Access with 5 bars) - details for this are as follows:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Danny>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Danny-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-4B-EB-79-71
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 12 April 2010 22:42:41
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 April 2010 06:47:55
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-A1-4D-AF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    I have just powered up the Dell laptop, which is the one that always seems to have problems connecting to the network - here are the results from that machine (currently showing as connected to NETGEAR, but as an Unidentified Network with No Internet Access):

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FITPC0041
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : fit.local
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : fit.local

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-AE-12-5F-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FB-3F-B7-26
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7006:b856:c04f:eee6%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 April 2010 07:15:50
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 April 2010 07:15:50
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184558331
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-F0-FE-77-00-23-AE-12-5F-BD

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{57134F03-DFF0-4465-A469-43516F2A44AD}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>

    I really appreciate your help with this, the problem is driving me crazy! Sometimes the Dell laptop (the second machine) will access the network, and sometimes it won't, it is extremely temperamental!
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. dannyyoung

    dannyyoung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    OK, so I have had the HP laptop on the whole time, and it is nicely connected to the NETGEAR network (downstairs).

    I switched on the Dell, it recognised the SKY60571 network (upstairs) and connected, 2-3 bars. I then tried to connect to NETGEAR, and it connected as an Unidentified Network with No Internet Access, I carried out the tests above and got the following results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FITPC0041
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : fit.local
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : fit.local

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-AE-12-5F-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FB-3F-B7-26
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7006:b856:c04f:eee6%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16 April 2010 13:57:04
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 April 2010 14:45:28
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184558331
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-F0-FE-77-00-23-AE-12-5F-BD

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{57134F03-DFF0-4465-A469-43516F2A44AD}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5A489F72-C5D8-4DDD-8F9D-153C2ADB1A9D}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>ping 192.168.0.8

    Pinging 192.168.0.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.8: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.8: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.8: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.8: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>ping 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\dannyy.FIT>

    I then tried to get back onto the SKY60571 network, Windows 7 said "Windows was unable to connect to SKY60571", I ran the troubleshooter, it could find no problem, and I am still connected to NETGEAR as an Unidentified network with No Internet access!

    Thanks again for your help with this

    Edit: After a couple of minutes, the connection has now defaulted back to SKY60571, with 3 bars connection strength showing
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.



    If that doesn't help, I'd try using MSCONFIG to disable groups of startup applications until you find the offending process.

    Here's a tutorial: Diagnose boot problems in Windows XP using MSCONFIG
     
  8. dannyyoung

    dannyyoung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Thanks, I am running Windows 7, when I click Start, All Programs I cannot see Command Prompt to right click on it, where would I find this? I tried running the commands by clicking Start and entering CMD in the search box, but I am told that the command requires elevation (run as administrator). Any ideas?

    Cheers
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start - All Programs - Accessories - and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916018

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice