1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Not Genuine?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by FelixPoe, Feb 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FelixPoe

    FelixPoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    My computer is telling me my copy of Windows 7 isn't genuine, which is wrong because I installed it with a copy of Windows 7 purchased directly from Microsoft. I recently purchased a 500 GB HDD and cloned my 320 GB HDD over to it, then put the 320GB HDD into my mom's boyfriend's computer, because his was no longer functioning. Then I switched the 500GB HDD out of my broken ASUS G50VT into a Compaq on loan to me from my mom's boyfriend. Now I can't turn on my anti-virus software and the computer is telling me my OS isn't genuine. Does anyone know what's wrong and / or how to fix it?

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD V120 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1786 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 459750 MB, Free - 219999 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1444
    Antivirus: Bitdefender Antivirus, Disabled
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Windows can only be run from the original computer that it was installed to. It is only licensed for the original machine. If an installation is moved to a different machine, it is a new installation and needs a new license or activation.
     
  3. xalerik

    xalerik

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    If you purchased Asus notebook with OEM licence it belongs to Asus PC, and can't be used on other PC. If you purchased clean ASUS PC and Windows 7 full package product, you should enter licence key one more time and reactivate (internet, if not success by phone). After PC components change (motherboard) it's always a need to reactivate OS.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    That's 2 activations on one key right there. You can't install Windows on one computer and then take the drive out and put it in another computer. You need a second Windows 7 license for that.

    I can't tell if you then again swapped hard drives, but it would seem you activated the same key too many times. Get all the installations you've swapped around wiped out, and then you can reinstall Windows 7 on your one and only computer.
     
  5. FelixPoe

    FelixPoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    So, basically I need a new copy of Windows? Great. I can't afford that.
     
  6. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    Well, until you can afford it, why not put a copy of Ubuntu on your computer? It's a free linux operating system. Will require some relearning, but a good alternative. Granted, there are a lot of programs it won't run, but there are many open source alternatives. The operating system comes with the Firefox web browser, email software and OpenOffice (now called LibreOffice)for an office suite that is comparable to MS Office 2003 - and will open all MS Office documents (both old and new file formats). You can also save docs in MS file formats. Check out Ubuntu at http://www.ubuntu.com/ . My desktop is dual booted with Ubuntu.
     
  7. FelixPoe

    FelixPoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    That's actually what I did. Ubuntu is interesting to say the least, but I don't know if I'll be able to get used to it. It's drastically different from what I'm familiar with.
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You don't need an additional Windows license. You purchased one, but you gave it to at least one other person. You have to have the other people buy their own Windows 7 licenses or have them wipe their systems so they're no longer using your license.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1040942