1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 OEM disk

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by gparachute, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gparachute

gparachute Thread Starter

Hello All,

This is my first time at this site, nice to meet you all.

I am having an issue of principal here. I purchased an Acer Aspire Timeline AS3810T. It's actually a really nice and well designed laptop.

Here's the major beef I have with Acer. They are not willing to provide a clean OEM install disk, only the recovery disk, which contains all the crap and ads that new computers come with. It's pretty frustrating, as I only want a clean install of Windows 7, installed on the machine for which I legally own a license for.

It's infuriating...do you know of a way to obtain an OEM copy of Windows 7 from a manufacturer (what to say, or do in order to get it?). I feel that legally they're obligated to give it to me.

Thanks for your thoughts in advance.

2. jordanfuchs

jordanfuchs

They should provide you with one? I would be ringing them and demanding one. Failing that, send a nicely worded email to microsoft outlining why you need a clean install disk and your manufacturer wont provide you with one.

3. gparachute

I spoke with three people from Acer today (two from India, one US-based) and they were ADAMANT that I can't have it. It's pretty crazy...I'll try calling Microsoft tomorrow. It's infuriating, it's the matter of principle - they are not letting me have something which I purchased and own a license for. And I'm really trying to use it for a legal purpose - installing Windows OEM copy on a machine I purchased it with. Crazy!

4. dustyjay

dustyjay

First Name:
    Jay