1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Pro - HELP?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Deletedmember594496, Apr 14, 2010.

Mark Solved
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deletedmember594496

Deletedmember594496 Guest Thread Starter

I am new to windows 7, so I will provide as much info as I can.

I decided to extend the life of an older pc by adding some ram and putting in a faster CPU. I clean-installed 32-bit windows 7 PRO a couple of days ago. No problems with the install, no problems getting drivers, no problems installing software; everything seemed to be going smoothly.

This morning I booted up the PC (after a normal shutdown last night) to finish moving my personal files and documents to the hard drive. I typed in my password but the system would not accept it. I would use a password reset disk if I had one, but as luck would have it I did not know there was such a thing (remember I've only been working with this OS for a couple of days).

At this point, reinstalling would not be a problem I only I COULD reinstall. First I tried safe mode, but my keyboard will not respond when I get to the windows recovery screen. I tried to boot from CD, but again my keyboard will not respond when I see the message 'press any key to boot from cd.' Personally, I find these last two issues way more troubling than not being able to log on.

I don't know what is wrong or what to try next. Has anyone seen this problem before? Why am I suddenly unable to log into Windows? Does anyone know why my system does not take input from the keyboard when I need it most?

Here is what is under the hood. It's not the latest and greatest, but more than enough for my purposes:
    Gigabyte ga-8i848p-g motherboard
    3gHz P4 cpu
    2 G ram
    120 G Hdd