1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Pro Security Updates?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Herringbone, Dec 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Herringbone

    Herringbone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    I recently upgraded to Windows 7 Pro and tried to get the latest MS security updates--but the procedure
    just stalled out with no conclusion...

    Do security updates for Win 7 Pro get acquired by a route different from the normal Win 7
    procedure of direct download?
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Your post has insufficient detail to assist
    Please copy and paste to your reply the information in the white box when you run this
    http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe

    Include please the make and full model of the computer if branded

    From which OS did you upgrade to 7 Pro and indeed where was the upgrade media from
     
  3. Herringbone

    Herringbone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    I upgraded from Windows 7 Home Premium (32-bit). The upgrade was purchased from Micro Center, and subsequently certified as authentic during installation.

    _______________________________________________________

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 16353 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 5700 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 255 GB (207 GB Free); D: 0 GB (0 GB Free); E: 48 GB (43 GB Free); F: 1784 GB (1378 GB Free); G: 465 GB (425 GB Free); H: 289 GB (213 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASRock, 970A-G/3.1
    Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    I did not think you could upgrade from 32 to 64 bit
    I thought it required a clean install

    If I am correct and presuming that is what you did see if this will help you
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/949104

    It may well be the new version of the update agent that is required
     
    Herringbone likes this.
  5. Herringbone

    Herringbone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Yes, it was a clean install. I just considered going from Win 7 HP 32-bit to Win 7 Pro 64-bit as an "upgrade."

    Will check out your link, TY.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Will wait to hear from you
    This package for the 64 bit download will install in ONE go all updates both security and critical from SP1 until April 2016

    http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/Search.aspx?q=3125574

    Further information is here and you may download the package from the first link - the update catalogue
    so you add to basket, then you view basket, then you download

    I recommend you turn off AVAST whilst downloading and most certainly whilst installing

    I also recommend you use IE and depending on the version of IE you may need to update that first
    It SHOULD however work with IE6 or later

    Full details can be seen here in the topic by my good colleague Flavallee.
    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/steps-for-installing-updating-windows-7-sp1.1176121/

    These rollup - updates have been issued by Microsoft to save the literally 100`s of updates you would have to install from SP1 to date
     
  7. Herringbone

    Herringbone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Well, I disabled Avast and downloaded Update KB3125574 (Standalone Installer Update) from that link, initiated it, and it executed, saying "Searching for Updates on this computer..."

    This went on for up to fifteen minutes without any further results. I got weary of
    this business, and halted the program via my Control Panel....
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Have you followed the advice in post 4 before proceeding to post 6
     
  9. Herringbone

    Herringbone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Will check that out....
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,796
    First Name:
    Rob
    Herringbone likes this.
  11. Herringbone

    Herringbone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Am going to rejigger a backup of my new Win 7 Pro setup with CrashPlan (& own external HD) before attempting these updates.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1182631

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice