1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Professional & Printer Issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by NewITGuy1, Jan 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NewITGuy1

NewITGuy1 Thread Starter

I have a new Windows 7 Professional 32 bit computer that the printers are not pushing out to. We have a Windows Server 2003 R2 server with print management that deploys printers to all the work stations. The new Windows 7 Professional computer will not always get the printers. When first set up and signed on as a administrator the printers deployed. The users then did not get the printers and cannot add a printer manually. When signed back on as an administrator I found that the printers that originally deployed had disappeared. Whenever trying to add a printer manually I get a message saying the printer services are not started and that it needs to be restarted. When I go into services I find that the print services is started/running, so I'll restart it, reboot the computer and usually find that the printers deployed again for the administrator. The first time I did this the printers then deploy for users, but not all the printers (some are missing) in all cases. A short time later, maybe a day or 2 the printers will disappear again, getting the same messages if you try adding a printer manually and finding the print services still running/started. Not every time I do the restart of print services and rebooting the computer will resolve the issue though. Sometimes that has to be done a couple of times for it to work but still will only resolve the issue for a short time and the printers will disappear again. Print services is set for automatic. There are 2 other Windows 7 Professional computers on the same network that do not have this issue. Anybody have an