1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7: "Program" has stopped working"?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Pistol Slap, Dec 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    I'm using Windows 7 and for the last couple days I've been flooded with all sorts of "Program" has stopped working" notifications, from everything from the nvidia control panel to windows explorer to various processes that I don't even recognize that must be other ordinary windows processes. These just happen without warning, and when I restart my computer, I get about ten of them right on startup, everything is crashing and I don't know why?


    Operating System
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)

    Processor
    3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5-3470
    128 kilobyte primary memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    6144 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (4 total)
    Not hyper-threaded

    Board:
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. H77M-D3H
    Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. F5 03/29/2012

    RAM:
    Slot 'ChannelB-DIMM0' has 8192 MB

    Display:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 [Display adapter]
    Samsung SyncMaster [Monitor] (24.0"vis, s/n YCUYHVDZ702086, July 2010)

    Audio:
    NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    VIA High Definition Audio
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what power supply

    make
    model
    wattage

    run the hard drive makers diagnostic on the hard drive

    if it comes up clear run

    chkdsk /f
     
  3. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    thermaltake atx power supply
    trx-750M 750W TRX RX PSU

    chkdsk came up with nothing. still doing it.

    there are no crash dumps which makes sense because it hasnt been windows that has crashed, like the system never restarts it's just programs and processes that constantly crash

    i restarted the computer and even before windows could boot it said userinit.exe and runoncewrapper both crashed then windows media player, then realtek audio, then nvidia, thats what i mean by it being system programs.

    Here's the crash details for one of them:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: userinit.exe
    Application Version: 6.1.7601.17514
    Application Timestamp: 4ce79e9a
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_b608
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 000000006fff0110
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 4105
    Additional Information 1: b608
    Additional Information 2: b60879385d1b8e95d4e06307842f33fd
    Additional Information 3: 3b66
    Additional Information 4: 3b66afa504f4053040504f69eeabacd7




    Also, it seems to for whatever reason be knocking my games from 40fps down to 12.
    Avira and Malwarebytes and Spybot all have nothing to report in the way of viruses or spyware.
    I really don't want to have to reinstall windows, I just installed it 2 weeks ago, what could the problem be?
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,914
    When a bunch of unrelated errors occur, the problem could be RAM. Run memtest over night and see if it reports anything

    http://www.memtest.org/
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  6. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    i believe it's not my memory since my xp installation works just fine on the same hardware
     
  7. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    I've suspected the same thing -- it behaves like malware, but even a rootkit scan didn't find anything. spybot, avira, malwarebytes, none of it found anything. any suggestions on what kind of bug it is or another way to look for it?

    who are 'the security section people'?
     
  8. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    I'm going to attempt to boot into safe mode and see if it behaves the same -- if I get the same crashes.
    while within safe mode I'll try the sfc /scannow your link suggests.
     
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  10. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    im in the safe mode -- no crashes -- am performing the scan, will see what happens.

    what do i do in this security section? post a thread or do i just look up stuff?
     
  11. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    well crap. the sfc scan did not result in anything
     
  12. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  13. Pistol Slap

    Pistol Slap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    cool i will post here, thanks very much guys for your direction
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081308

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice