1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Reboots into System Recovery Mode and will not boot up

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by GMenace, May 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    When I boot up my computer it goes into system recovery mode over and over. I have tried the Start up repair and Windows cannot find any problems. I then tried a system restore and it worked. When windows ran an update it went back to the original system recovery mode. And now i cannot do a system restore. The only code I have been able to find is:

    Problem Event Name: StartupRepairOffline
    Prob Sig 01: 6.1.7600.16385
    Prob Sig 02: 6.1.7600.16385
    Prob Sig 03: unknown
    Prob sig 04: 21200894
    Prob Sig 05: Autofailover
    Prob Sig 06: 6
    Prob Sig 07 Corruptfile
    OS Version 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Local ID 1033

    I would appreciate any help I can get. I am trying to recover my Outlook emails so that I can reply back to a job interview.

    Thanks for you helop in advance.
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If it is true that there is a corrupt file, then you may be able to replace it using SFC (System File Checker). From a command window in recovery, type:

    Code:
    sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\  /offwindir=C:\Windows
    and it will scan your drive for corrupt files.

    But, this happened for some reason. So, were there any problems or symptoms that may have indicated impending problems before this happened? How old is the machine? Make/model?
     
  3. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    My computer is a HP tc4400 laptop. I have 2G of mem and a 400GB HD. The computer worked great until we had a power outage. When I rebooted i kept getting the same error. I am trying the sys scan now.
     
  4. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    It came back with the corrupt file being fixed but when I rebooted the computer it said it could not repair the computer automatically. Same message every time. Any other suggestions?

    Thanks,
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It takes more than once to fix startup problems with some situations. So running Startup Repair again is worth a try.

    But you didn't mention the power situation before. Whenever there is a hard shutdown of a system, there is damage to the file system. Chkdsk /f should always be run after one of these situations. Your problems could be as simple as a damaged file system, or as serious as a damaged drive from power surges during the power failure. To be sure that the actual surface of the drive has not been damaged, run chkdsk /r on the drive. It will take a while under good circumstances, but if it finds any amount of damage, it could take many hours to complete. Let it finish. Make a note of the results, especially if any bad clusters are found. It is best run from the command prompt in the recovery environment since Windows is then "offline" and even problems with areas of the drive involved with chkdsk itself can be checked.
     
  6. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Noticed a Fatal Error in my reply.
    Do you have the Windows 7 DVD with You?
     
  7. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I tried to run chkdsk /r in recovery mode and the responses i received was Chkdsk may run if this volume is dismounted first. ALL OPEN HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID. Would you like to force a dismount on this volume? (Y/N).
    Is that something I should try?
     
  8. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Yes, I have the Windows 7 disk with me.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    There should be no handles if you are looking at the right partition. Do a dir to make sure:

    dir C:

    for example.

    But if it still says that, you may dismount the drive and close any open handles using:

    chkdsk C: /r /x

    (Never use drive letters to identify partitions. They change easily, especially in the NT family. Use contents, size, or location to make sure you have the right partition. The C: drive may well become D: or something else when viewed from a different operating system or program.)
     
  10. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I tried the chk disk and the sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\ /offwindir=C:\Windows. To no avail. When I ran the chk dsk everything looked good. At the end of the chk dsk it said failed to transfer logged messages to the event log with status 50. I am not sure what that means.
    The frustrating part is that the computer worked fine and then after the windows update it did not. The computer will boot up into the windows screen (with the green bars running across the middle of the page) and then moves to the light blue window before it moves to the System Recovery Tool.
    Do you have any other suggestions? Thank you again for your time.
     
  11. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Consider repairing Windows.
    Just a question..
    Can you access system restore from here.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. GMenace

    GMenace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Yes I can. However it gives me an error that says that there is not a restore point available. I am about ready to wipe the drive clean and reload Windows 7. Before I do that I will need to get my emails that were taken off the sever and put into Outlook before the computer stopped booting up. Do you know how I would do that?
     
  13. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    You can use CMD if you know how to handle it.
    DO you know the location where the emails are stored?
     
  14. wtxcowboy

    wtxcowboy

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,242
    are you using Outlook as part of Office 7? or are you using windows live mail? that's why i use gmail, you can store/retrieve your emails from another source in case of system failure. can you contact your prospective employer and have them resend that particular email to say a hotmail or gmail account? if this is a fairly new computer, have you tried contacting the manuf for help?
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920714