1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 Second Hardrive

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by NoLim1t, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NoLim1t

    NoLim1t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Okay so i changed my external hard drive into an internal hard drive(2nd hd).
    My first hard drive had windows xp on it.
    I plugged in my second hard drive and installed windows 7 on it.
    Both hard drives were plugged in during the installation.

    Everything worked perfectly!

    However when i unplug my 1st hard drive, i can not access windows 7 on my 2nd hd.

    When i boot i get to the OS selection screen and when i choose windows 7 i get.
    (0xc000000e The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible)

    When i plug my first hard drive back in, it works.

    How can i access windows 7 without having the first hard drive plugged in?

    Thanks
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    It will take a little work and you will need the windows 7 and XP disk.
    I assume you still want to boot XP later.
    If you are using IDE drives,remember to change jumpers according to
    the way the drives are connected.

    Disconnect the XP drive.
    Boot to the windows 7 disk.
    During the first few steps,look for a link that says repair options.
    Click that and run startup repair.
    After it is done.reboot and windows 7 should start.
    If not,run startup repair until it reports no problems.

    Once you have the windows 7 drive booting again,shut down
    and disconnect it.
    Connect the XP drive and boot to the XP CD.
    Select R to go to repair console.
    At the repair console type fixmbr and hit enter.
    Reboot and see if XP starts.

    If both drives are now booting indepedently,shut down
    and reconnect both drives.
    Set the first boot device to the windows 7 drive and start
    windows 7.

    At this point.if you don't want a bootloader,you can
    just change the first boot device in the BIOS to
    change the boot drive as both drives now have their
    own MBR.

    If you want a bootloader,do this....
    Download this and run it on windows 7.
    Use it to add XP to the windows 7 boot menu.
    http://neosmart.net/dl.php?id=1
     
  3. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,464
    Welcome to TSG :)
    As far as Leroy goes, I agree, its about the easiest way.
    The reason its doing this (out fo interest I guess) is that the little bit that tells it where to look for where Windows is is on the drive where your first OS was installed. If thats gone, theres no little bit telling it where to look, thus it doesnt work.
    Think of it as having boxes with the numbers 1-10 on, and different stuff in each one. On the front of the first box is the list of where everything is. As long as the first box is there, all is good, if its taken away, you cant find a thing. same thing :)
     
  4. alexcarlson

    alexcarlson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Hi,
    Disconnect the XP drive & boot to the windows 7 disk.
    It will work.

    Best of luck!!
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,003
    First Name:
    Jay
    That was your problem .. I only connect one drive at a time when installing a system.

    Depending on the manufacturer of your system .. You may not need to install a boot loader.
    In a HP .. just tap the escape key during the bootup .. and you will enter a boot loader where you can choose which HDD to boot from.
    In a Dell .. I think it's the F12 key
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914789

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice