1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 - The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first...

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by originaldeadman, May 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. originaldeadman

    originaldeadman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hey everyone,

    I currently own a Dell Vostro 1500 laptop, It came with Windows Vista Business Edition 32 bits and 1 GB RAM. I recently upgraded my RAM to 4gb and decided to move to Windows 7 RC build 7100 64 bits (Had to do a clean install) . I've been getting several BSODs or the screen would just turn black and the system would stop responding.

    The most common errors that I'm getting is:

    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly. -- I get this daily, if not every few hours.

    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />

    <EventID>41</EventID>

    <Version>2</Version>

    <Level>1</Level>

    <Task>63</Task>

    <Opcode>0</Opcode>

    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>

    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-05-22T08:35:33.050413300Z" />

    <EventRecordID>14175</EventRecordID>

    <Correlation />

    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />

    <Channel>System</Channel>

    <Computer>Deadman-PC</Computer>

    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />

    </System>


    - <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>

    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>

    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>

    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>

    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>

    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>

    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>

    </EventData>


    </Event>


    Another error would be: Audit events have been dropped by the transport. 0

    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Eventlog" Guid="{fc65ddd8-d6ef-4962-83d5-6e5cfe9ce148}" />

    <EventID>1101</EventID>

    <Version>0</Version>

    <Level>2</Level>

    <Task>101</Task>

    <Opcode>0</Opcode>

    <Keywords>0x4020000000000000</Keywords>

    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-05-21T23:55:54.124834500Z" />

    <EventRecordID>2644</EventRecordID>

    <Correlation />

    <Execution ProcessID="872" ThreadID="1092" />

    <Channel>Security</Channel>

    <Computer>Deadman-PC</Computer>

    <Security />

    </System>


    - <UserData>
    - <AuditEventsDropped xmlns:auto-ns3="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events" xmlns="http://manifests.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/windows/eventlog">
    <Reason>0</Reason>

    </AuditEventsDropped>


    </UserData>


    </Event>


    I was also getting this as warning in event viewer:

    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller: The network link is down. Check to make sure the network cable is properly connected.
    --- And I decided to disable it in device manager.

    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="bcm44amd64" />

    <EventID Qualifiers="32773">4</EventID>

    <Level>3</Level>

    <Task>0</Task>

    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>

    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-05-22T08:35:38.307622500Z" />

    <EventRecordID>14179</EventRecordID>

    <Channel>System</Channel>

    <Computer>Deadman-PC</Computer>

    <Security />

    </System>


    - <EventData>
    <Data>\Device\NDMP5</Data>

    <Data>Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller</Data>

    <Binary>00000000020030000000000004000580000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000</Binary>

    </EventData>


    </Event>






    Attached are my full system specs, made by SIW and the latest dump files I could find.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    First of all, why are you running a 64 bit edition. Your computer came with a 32 bit version of Vista so your motherboard can only handle a 32 bit edition.
     
  3. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,855
    NOT true, some OEM machines have 64 bit mother boards and processor, but have 32 bit Windows installed.:D
     
  4. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    That must be a fairly recent development. The techies at my computer club never heard of such a thing.
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,855
  6. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    "some OEM machines have 64 bit mother boards and processor, but have 32 bit Windows installed."

    Well, as you've said, it's only "some" OEM machines. Unless I was familiar with which can and which I can't, I wouldn't be recommending that move to anyone.
     
  7. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,855
    A 32 bit Windows CAN be install on ANY 64 bit machine, and always has been that way, since the 64 bit machines cam out.

    If this was NOT possible, then the likes of Linux could NOT be installed on them.
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,169
    The commentary regarding 64Bit VS 32 OS on a computer aside, unless you have programs and drivers that are compatible with the 64Bit OS I would not be using it. It does have it's place, but far fewer drivers available for older and slightly older hardware.

    ANd as long as you computer is a 64 bit platform then it can run either a 32Bit or a 64 Bit OS.
     
  9. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    Here's an interesting decision. If you are running a 32 bit operating system with a 64 bit motherboard, which version of MS Office 2010 would you get since it will be coming out in 32 bit and 64 bit?
     
  10. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,169
    If you are running a 32Bit OS you would run a 32Bit Version if it comes out in both 64 and 32Bit.
     
  11. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,239
    Figured that. And, yes, Office 2010 really is coming out in both. As far as I know that's the first time a software program will be released this way.
     
  12. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,855
    With programs, you will need the same version as the OS.

    One can run 32 bit programs on a 64 bit OS, but NOT the other way, a 64 bit program will not run on a 32 bit OS.
     
  13. dan82517

    dan82517

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I have the same problem as originaldeadman.

    my pc specs -
    Windows 7 RC1 7100 build (x64)
    E8600 @ 3.33ghz (stock)
    Asus rampage extreme(x48 mobo)
    TWIN3X4096-1600C7DHXIN G (4gb dd3 corsair xms3 memory @ 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 timings)
    Sapphire HD4870x2 (ATI)
    Western Digital 300GB - WD3000GLSF
    Western Digital 640GB- WD6400AAKS

    message I get.

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 25/05/2009 04:34:24
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Dan-PC
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-05-25T03:34:24.201618800Z" />
    <EventRecordID>17535</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Dan-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  14. originaldeadman

    originaldeadman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    My system supports 64 bits Operating Systems :D I also found out that BlueSoleil was behind all this! It actually installed faulty drivers and as soon as I got rid of it, everything seemed to be going well until... I got this weird BSOD and this error message in event viewer.


    Activation context generation failed for "C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc80.mfc_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_none_c46a533c8a667ee7\MFC80U.DLL". Dependent Assembly Microsoft.VC80.MFCLOC,processorArchitecture="amd64",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",version="8.0.50608.0" could not be found. Please use sxstrace.exe for detailed diagnosis.


    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="SideBySide" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49409">33</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-05-25T10:35:14.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>3233</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Deadman-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data>Microsoft.VC80.MFCLOC,processorArchitecture="amd64",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",version="8.0.50608.0"</Data>
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data>C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc80.mfc_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_none_c46a533c8a667ee7\MFC80U.DLL</Data>
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    <Data />
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  15. dan82517

    dan82517

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    anyone?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/829133