1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 unidentified network - No Interet Access and no access to router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by poddyboy, Nov 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. poddyboy

    poddyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hello, recently out of the blue my computer hasn't been able to connect to the internet, I have a wireless laptop and wired xbox on the same router which can access the interet.
    Here is a bit of my IPCONFIG:
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-4B-9F-46
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b806:f52:5f1a:32f0%19(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.50.240(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 436216341
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-31-1A-23-00-22-15-4B-9F-48

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Network adaptor is on automatic ip addressing, I have uninstalled the bonjour service thinking that was the problem; uninstalled/installed and updated the network adaptor drivers; and have reset the tcp/ip stack none of these have worked.

    I have tried a different cable in both a different ethernet port on my computer and a different ethernet port on my router.

    Ive tried searching and finding a solution for two long days but have found no solution, can anyone shine some light for me here and help me fix this??
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try safemode with networking with a cable connected
    keeping tapping F8 as the PC boots a menu should appear
    choose
    safemode with networking

    Also a firewall maybe blocking - what firewall do you have OR have had on the PC
     
  3. poddyboy

    poddyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    only had windows firewall up to now since my last reinstall, about a month ago and haven't changed it and safe mode with networking did not work exact same case
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    post back an ipconfig /all
    Note the ALL

    lets also see an image of the device manager

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. poddyboy

    poddyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Poddy-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-4B-9F-47
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-4B-9F-46
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b806:f52:5f1a:32f0%19(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.50.240(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 436216341
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-31-1A-23-00-22-15-4B-9F-48

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-4B-9F-45
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-4B-9F-48
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{62317C28-B438-4B1F-B178-68B6BFCA8DC0}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F4E994EF-434E-453E-98DF-74DD166907A5}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B6B3A4BD-B026-4238-954A-02A0747102A2}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{389DD697-F0DC-42CC-8081-72ECAE5B747D}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/PoddyBoy/?action=view&current=Capture.jpg
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the make and model of this PC - and do you have 4 Network adapters in the machine - each seems to have a unique (although sequential) MAC address
     
  7. poddyboy

    poddyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    its my custom build, the mobo is the asus P5Q-Premium with 4 ethernet port on-board networking, yes 4 separate adaptors
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see the following

     
  9. poddyboy

    poddyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    hello already tried the tcp/ip stack reset to no avail and just checked my services and all services minus the xp and vista ones are started and on automatic.
    Starting to think the motherboard may need replaced if the problem is the onboard networking, or that i should get a network card
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you tried a restore to before the issue started
    start>
    programs>
    accessories>
    system tools>
    system recovery>
     
  11. poddyboy

    poddyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    rolledback to a point before the error but the problem still persists
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    before replacing the hardware , i would do a re-installation of xp
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    One other thing to try. Sometimes a NIC and router (or modem) have trouble negotiating a speed. In Device Manager right click one of the ethernet adapters - Properties - Advanced tab - try some different settings for the 'Speed & Duplex' property beginning with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/960517

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice