1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 wont load at all

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by SSFF7826, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SSFF7826

    SSFF7826 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    i think its a virus, prob is, so i cant get windows to load normally, nor in safe mode and i cant even get into system restore, it loads then there is a quick blue screen and then restarts on its own.... i have a 1TB HD in 4 partitions i can only see the C drive listed and it says 132 out of 931 free which makes sense with all the data on all 4 parts......i took the HD and used an enclosure but the i cant get the D to recognize anywhere......i was thinking maybe using the Combo fix on the boot up might work????

    any help would be great appreciated as im usually pretty good at backing things up but i need school work on there for finals coming up.....thanks you and happy holidays
     
  2. bryanrseah

    bryanrseah

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
  3. SSFF7826

    SSFF7826 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    will i lose all the data on m HD doing this you think? thanks for your help
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Drive letters are assigned to partitions and drives by the operating system. When you connect the drive to another computer, those drive letters will be different. Obviously you can't have 2 "C:" drives. If the drive has 4 partitions, then you should see those 4 partitions in Disk Management when you connect the drive to another computer. Windows may not necessarily assign drive letters to all partitions. You may need to do that manually.
     
  5. SSFF7826

    SSFF7826 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    ok im a little confused about that, so should i rename the HD i have in my computer now from "C" to lets say "H" will that make the enclosed HD readable? thanks for you help
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You don't "rename" anything. Connect the drive to another computer, and open Disk Management. Does the drive show up? With all 4 partitions? Are there drive letters assigned? If not, right-click on the partition, and assign an available letter.
     
  7. SSFF7826

    SSFF7826 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    It does not show up in disk management.it says disk1 which im assuming is the HD in its enclosure reading dynamic invalid ,
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Sounds like there's a problem with the drive itself. I don't have any other suggestions.
     
  9. SSFF7826

    SSFF7826 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    so basically you think i lost everything on the drive?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032352

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice