1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7 won't load

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by 3Turtles, Jul 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 3Turtles

    3Turtles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Dell laptop bought 8 months ago.My son said it started running real slow now windows won't load at all.Goes to start up repair I tried all the options and it didn't work
    Problem Error Name Startup Repair
    Problem Signature 1: 6.1.7600.16385
    Problem Signature 2: 6.1.7600.16385
    Problem Signature 3: unknown
    Problem Signature 4: 371
    Problem Signature 5: Auto Failover
    Problem Signature 6: 1
    Problem Signature 7: failure durning setup
    OS version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.2561
    Local ID: 1033

    After running setup repair it said Root cause found
    Failure while setup is in progress

    Please help me
     
  2. bazhef

    bazhef

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    If you check my current thread with pretty much the same problem there might be some help.
    It's titled 'windows loads incredibly slow.'
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,885
    if it a Dell laptop & only 8 months old, then it is under guarantee
    get in touch with Dell
    it sounds like it could be a hard disc failure
     
  4. 3Turtles

    3Turtles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you I'll call Dell in the AM
    hard disk failure makes sense Dell's data safe couldn't restore it to factory new.
     
  5. Dell-Kris

    Dell-Kris Dell Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Hello,
    My name is Krishna and I work for the Social Media and Community Team at Dell. Based on your post, it appears to be a hard drive failure or an operating system corruption. Try running the hardware diagnostics and see if it shows any errors. You can follow the instructions from http://support.dell.com/support/top...=19&l=en&s=dhs&docid=DSN_362645&isLegacy=true
    If you want to PM your service tag number and shipping address, I will have a look to see what options we have.

    Regards,
    Dell-Kris K
     
  6. 3Turtles

    3Turtles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    krishna thank you for your input the computer won't load the OS I can't do/ go online to try the diagnostics. I haven't been on this site long enough to send a PM. I have a service request number from Dell Tech support, if that would help you, help me. Wasn't real happy with them, computer still the same and never received the call back.
     
  7. Dell-Kris

    Dell-Kris Dell Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Allow me to sincerely apologize for any difficulties you may have encountered in attempting to resolve your concerns. Please e-mail me the reference number and I would be happy to look into it. My e-mail address is available in my profile.

    Regards,
    Dell-Kris K
     
  8. 3Turtles

    3Turtles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Dell tech support finally called me back this aftn, They are sending me a rescue disk/ recovery disk(?) and will talk me through the steps. It only took 2 emails, I wasn't very nice in the 2nd one. So now I wait for Fedex.
     
  9. Dell-Kris

    Dell-Kris Dell Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Sorry for the trouble. Feel free to contact me if you need any further assistance.

    Regards,
    Dell-Kris K
     
  10. 3Turtles

    3Turtles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Dell-Kris thank you very much. Windows is loading right now, tech should be calling back any time now to finish setup. 2 weeks ago I removed some malware with malwarebytes & another program can't remember the name. Could that be what caused this problem with windows 7 ? I Have McAfee Internet Security on all the computers is there something else that I should be running also?
     
  11. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    Most of us here use microsoft security essentials which is totally free and doesnt usually cause problems.Ive tried a lot of them free and paid and this is the one thats worked the best for me.If you decide to try it having 2 antivirus programs running together isnt recommended.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059238