1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows 8 not booting

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by brybry831, Apr 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brybry831

brybry831 Thread Starter

Ok, so I am a novice and I was trying to remove Mcafee from my registry through steps I found online and now when I start my computer it says "preparing automatic repair" it is a Dell inspiron 14r ( 14 5437) with windows 8. I do not have any sort of recovery discs.

2. Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

you uninstall McAfee from programs and features and then reboot and run the McAfee uninstall tool
    https://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

that is for your future information
    Please send the link to the instructions you found online and leave it preparing automatic repair depending on how long it has been so running

3. Macboatmaster

I have waited for the link so that I may try and establish what you have changed in the registry
    I am signing off it is 0024 in UK
    I am back about 1900 UK time
    It could take up to 30 minutes or so to prepare repair
    The golden rule is not to force shut down until you know for certain it is hanging
    Your best bet is a system restore point from the recovery menu

Details here
    If you get into the recovery environment
    please see this
    you want automatic repair
    if that does not work you want system restore
    not recovery or refresh but a system restore point

https://www.winhelp.us/repair-your-c...windows-8.html

system restore on the first blue coloured image on that link

that should hopefully take you back to before - the attempted uninstall of McAfee

4. brybry831

brybry831 Thread Starter

How to manually remove McAfee Agent 4.x - McAfee Support