1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 8 thinks my key isn't activated

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by ep2002, Feb 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ep2002

    ep2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Hi all,

    Here is my link to my stats http://speccy.piriform.com/results/P80dVBdcJkHnEJNQzx8MFnb & Win 8 came pre-installed on this Asus laptop.

    Just an FYI to anyone out there, I will NEVER EVER buy anything Asus again. Their tech support is horrendous & they have wasted my time over & over again. And even their website doesn't even work properly when I tried to reach out to the executive area via their form, the submit button never works. And they hide management so you can never speak to them. They also won't let you speak to anyone in the US And lastly, no one even calls me back when they say they will (not one person, but many). Just a forewarning.

    So after wasting almost a month with this issue & probably over 24 total hours of dealing with Asus & MS on the phone, MS is NOW saying they think I have a virus.

    First I had issues with my wifi working when I was at a hotel, then after going thru the troubleshooting steps I think it wanted me to do a refresh which I did.

    It then had a number to call to get the Win 8 activation key so I called it & got this new key. Then a day or two later Win wanted to do another update. Now I wasn't at my own apt. & the speeds were terrible at this place I was staying at, but seriously, it took the update 6-8 hours. I know b/c I got up in the middle of the night & it was STILL running.

    Then it said the key was no longer valid & would deactivate on 02-10-15.

    I called MS & they told me that Asus is responsible. I called Asus & they told me MS is responsible. Called MS again & when I learned that all Win 8 pre-install keys are now connected to the MB & they no longer put a sticker on the hardware, I knew Asus was responsible.

    We went through everything at least 6 times with 6 different people & finally they said I had to do a factory refresh which I did just today & it took around 5 HOURS, can you believe that???

    After that was done I was STILL getting the flag with the red X saying that MS wasn't activated, but under PC Info it says it is.

    So I called up MS & said this is a problem on YOUR end. After he did something to upload a file to my computer & had me restart, the flag came back again.

    Now this guy isn't smart as he was NOT aware that there's no sticker on the laptops anymore for the key, but he wouldn't let me speak to a manager (probably lied about him being busy) & so he is saying I must have a virus.

    I'm very nervous now b/c the 10th is here in 4 days.

    Can we try to get rid of any virus there may be to see if that helps.

    In the meantime I clicked on the link that said to hide that message. I just rebooted & the flag isn't showing that red X anymore, but I don't trust this computer,

    I'm in the middle of re-installing all my apps for the 2nd time in less then a month.

    Oh & I always have Avast & MBAB on all my computers, so it's not like I'm unsecure & I've been working with computers for years.

    Thank you


    Michelle
     
  2. ep2002

    ep2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Hi there,

    I know you guys are busy, but now the laptop is even worse then it was before.

    The mouse (external) doesn't work even though it was working fine before. I click on a page, link, checkbox & it jumps all over the place.

    I can't work. I just clicked on one character & it highlighted the entire sentence. :(

    Please help.

    Thanks


    Michelle
     
  3. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Welcome :)

    Did you restore the system to factory settings? The Spec report indicates Windows was installed on 2/6/2015. See here
     
  4. ep2002

    ep2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Yes, I thought I mentioned that in my initial post.

    Turns out the jumpy part was the mouse. Why it suddenly stopped working I don't know.

    I would still like to see if there's deep viruses on here b/c of all the problems.

    Thanks
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    • Run the ESET Online Scanner.
    • Hold down Control and click on this link to open ESET OnlineScan in a new window.
    • Click the [​IMG] button.
    • For alternate browsers only: (Microsoft Internet Explorer users can skip these steps)
    • Click on esetsmartinstaller_enu.exe to download the ESET Smart Installer. Save it to your desktop.
    • Double click on the [​IMG] icon on your desktop.
    • Check "YES, I accept the Terms of Use."
    • Click the Start button.
    • Accept any security warnings from your browser.
    • Under scan settings, check "Scan Archives" and "Remove found threats"
    • ESET will then download updates for itself, install itself, and begin scanning your computer. Please be patient as this can take some time.
    • When the scan completes, click List Threats
    • Click Export, and save the file to your desktop using a unique name, such as ESETScan. Include the contents of this report in your next reply.
    • Click the Back button.
    • Click the Finish button.
    • NOTE:Sometimes if ESET finds no infections it will not create a log.
     
  6. ep2002

    ep2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Yeh I've already been doing that once a day, sometimes more.

    Here's the last 2.

    Thanks


    Michelle
     

    Attached Files:

  7. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    That doesn't represent a malware issue. In fact, autocheck is a legit file. I believe your issue is hardware related. Post in the software or hardware forum a question about the mouse problem.



    Best wishes! [​IMG]
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice