Windows 8 Wifi Network Connection Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kngsxvigil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 22, 2001
Messages
47
I have the same problem: here is my ipconfig file:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : angie
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-94-23-B9-CB-3F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5BWB222 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-B9-CB-3F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::95a:2cfc:f302:e4eb%16(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.27(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 25, 2013 2:48:50 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 26, 2013 2:48:50 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 375952419
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-22-36-8D-20-6A-8A-91-7A-BE
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-6A-8A-91-7A-BE
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{6CCFB866-9973-4DBC-B5E8-7530B3D6E8B1}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Thanks in advance,
Mark C.
 

kngsxvigil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 22, 2001
Messages
47
I'm finishing my reply, here is my ping report:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Windows\system32>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.224.238] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.224.238: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.224.238: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=52
Reply from 74.125.224.238: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=52
Reply from 74.125.224.238: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 74.125.224.238:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 28ms, Average = 16ms

C:\Windows\system32>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=49
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=49
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=49
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 76ms, Maximum = 90ms, Average = 80ms

C:\Windows\system32>
Thanks again,
Mark C.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
i have moved to a thread of your own in networking forum

all those tests are showing a good connection to the internet

do other devices connect to your wireless OK

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remove the wireless security
Is your wireless security enabled?
if so - log into the router and remove the wireless security - now see if it will connect.
if it does - log back into the router and try with the wireless security enabled again

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

kngsxvigil

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 22, 2001
Messages
47
Mcafee is the running antivirus. I found when I turned ON the Bluetooth module that the computer could connect to the internet but only sporadically. Also, all other devices can connect to the internet via wireless. I even turned off the firewall (via Mcafee) to see if that might help.
Mark C.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
do you have a full paid subscription to mcafee
remove mcafee and see if that resolves the connection issue


--------------------------------------------------------------

Mcafee Removal Tool
http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

After removing the mcafee product - if you have a subscription and would like to re-install mcafee

To download and install your McAfee service, please follow these steps:

1. Go to https://home.mcafee.com/Secure/Protected/Login.aspx?ErrCode=PLEASE_LOGIN
2. Enter your registered email address and password
3. Click on My Account
4. Click on Download under (Customer's subscription)
5. Follow the prompts to install
--------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top