Windows 8 Wifi trouble

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

johnf92

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
Recently bought a new laptop, a HP G6 2212SA and it came with windows 8 already installed
My problem is the internet can connect sometimes but usually never , i am posting this on my old laptop which has no issues with the internet it runs windows 7 I have posted the ipconfig below if anyone can help please?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JohnsPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 12-68-9D-BE-A6-11
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 84-34-97-7B-97-F3
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 802.11b/g/n WiFi
Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-68-9D-BE-A6-11
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d4d7:1168:7ba2:9000%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 January 2013 19:43:21
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 13 January 2013 21:09:25
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 203450525
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-83-4D-B2-84-34-97-7B-97-F3
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{5F0E46A5-4D38-4183-83FE-9EF4AD71F0E3}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:8fe:d20c:a9d5:fd95(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8fe:d20c:a9d5:fd95%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 603979776
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-83-4D-B2-84-34-97-7B-97-F3
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,760
Try a dynamic connection for the ethernet and make sure the cable is not defective.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,088
[QUOTE]What modem/router please
Have you checked for driver update on the AR9485

[/QUOTE]
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,088
While I have a look and you may think it sounds - WHY would that work
TRY setting channel 11
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,088
Further to the above that network adapter supports both 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz however the Zyzel supports only 2.4

2.4 is more open to interference than 5 from microwaves - bluetooth - etc
A 5 GHz network has a lower chance of picking up interference because most wireless devices such as Bluetooth devices, cordless phones, microwave ovens, and computers use the 2.4 GHz frequency

As you cannot use the 5Ghz as the router is only 2.4
http://www.zyxel.com/uk/en/products_services/p_660hw_series.shtml?t=p

change the channel as I said
you will of course find the instructions for that if you need them on the link I have sent - basically you log on to the router which you should be able to do, even although you are having problems with the connection to the net, and then follow the guide if you need it.
 

johnf92

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
I have changed the channel to 11 but still struggling to connect
weird thing is it shows im connected to the internet but when i try to go on to websites it wont let me and it says im not connected but right now im downloading a game of steam even though i cant go on websites?
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,088
When you changed to 11 on router - you must reboot computer - usually YOU have to re-configure wireless adapter - not always but frequently

Sounds silly but have you checked which service you are trying to connect to - it is not by any chance finding an unsecure network is it and you are trying to connect to that
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,088
I am signing off - I am in the UK it is 0100
To save me lots of typing I suggest the following
cmd prompt
ping and type the IP for google - or yahoo
see if it returns 4 sent 4 received no errors
then try
ping google.com
see if that returns OK

Are you with the AV that came on the HP or have you replaced it
If by chance it is AVG or you have replaced it with AVG do not allow the Tune Up utllities of AVG to run - you will have many more problems.

Then depending on ping and the results of my last on 11
work your way through this PLEASE
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/fix-network-adapter-problems


goodnight
 

johnf92

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
6
Thank you for your help I returned the computer to PC world today to be told hp laptops seem to having a problem with windows 8 because they have got lot of returns I say no as I am replying to your of my new hp g6 laptop I got from a different store and works perfect thank you for trying to help me out so much
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,088
So is that windows 8 as well

My advice would have been buy an hp laptop with windows 7 installed
You would then be eligible for a windows 8 upgrade for just £14.99 from Microsoft, to install when and if you had gained more knowledge of what the general concensus of opinion is on 8.
You would have had to register and download the upgrade from Microsoft by February, but you do not have to install then.

The reason I say that is that the upgrade to 8 is easier than the change back to seven if you decvide you do not like 8
I appreciate it is all probably too late now
If you wish any further details please just ask below is the link for the upgrade offer
http://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/en-GB

Additionally the one you have bought with 8 will have UEFI - in place of the traditional BIOS that is the (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface) and if you wish to know more about the implications of that - again just ask
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top