1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 95 dblbuff & vmm32.vxd missing or corrupted

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Oldhonest, Sep 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Oldhonest

Oldhonest Thread Starter

When I log on I get a warning message: Windows has detected a registry/configuration error. After starting the system in the safe mode I get the following messages: File is missing or corrupted C:\windows\dblbuff.sys , File C:\windows\ ifhlp.sys vmm32.vxd is required to run windows this file is not in your Path.
    I found on a thread called "vmm32.vxd again" dated 9/1/03 an almost identical situation. I am a novice and need someone to walk me through this step by step. Are there any takers? I really do need any help I can get!

Thanks

2. Oldhonest

Oldhonest Thread Starter

I will be out of town until saturday night. But I wanted to get this out there as quickly as possible. Thanks guys!

3. Oldhonest

Oldhonest Thread Starter

Anyone out there that can help?

4. Oldhonest

Oldhonest Thread Starter

Is there anyone online that can give me a hand?? I am ready to tackle this problem!

5. KurtVagner

KurtVagner

*cough*

6. NiteHawk

NiteHawk

OK, the first thing to do is use the Find command and search for those files and see if they are really missing or not.

Worst case, I can send you the files and tell you where and how to install them into the correct folder.

7. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge It's My Birthday!

You cannot use the Find command if you cannot get Windows to run. According to what Oldhonest has written, files that are essential for Windows to run are missing.