1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows 98 games

Discussion in 'Games' started by carltonfc, Dec 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. carltonfc

    carltonfc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    i can not play any windows 95 98 games on windows xp. ican install them but when i play them it just crashes or gets error message. i use the compatibility thing but they still dont work.
     
  2. Neumie

    Neumie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    What games are you Playing? Make sure you have SP2 for XP. Some just won't work since they need dos. if their really old then i you could try a program called dos box and run them from dos. If their for windows 95/98 then look for the latest patches for them and make sure your drivers are updated. Beyond that i don't really know what else you can do
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,340
    First Name:
    James
    I wouldn't recommend that as there have been issues with SP2. You should have SP1 installed at least. But if this question is related to the other question you posted, please keep the same problem on the same thread, that way it will make it easier on all of us. (That way we know what has been suggested to you)

    One point Nuemie has mentioned is that some games that are DOS based can run under Windows 95/98 but will not work under XP since DOS is not supported under NT 5.0 and higher. DOSBOX will work for most games but there is no guarrantee.

    Other than Red Alert 2: Yuris Revenge, what other games are you having trouble with?
     
  4. carltonfc

    carltonfc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    i've got really old games like comand and conquer, gta, time commando
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,340
    First Name:
    James
    the first C&C has a patch on Westwoods site. That will allow C&C to work. I know because I have been playing it for a while now. I don't know GTA1 is but I'm sure I put it in compatibility mode for Windows ME and it worked for me.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/307226

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice