Windows 98 re: Critical updates

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sooky 47

Thread Starter
Gone and dearly missed
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
7,281
Hi ,
I've tried searching, but have not gotten info on : how do I get Critical updates etc. for Windows 98 .... I get to the scan my computer and it just hangs ??

Any suggestions, would be appreciated. ( i've tried several times )

thanks Lu

IBM Aptiva running Windows 98
 

Sooky 47

Thread Starter
Gone and dearly missed
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
7,281
Hi junker39,
thanks for the reply ........ the only Anti virus software on it is Norton 2002 ...
but no Firewall

thanks Lu
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
1,661
After you click on the SCAN FOR UPDATES, it doesn't go to "Scanning...33%....66%...and all that?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Are you blocking Java applets , ActiveX controls, and JavaScript.

I have my IE setting up high and I block lots of things and I have ZA Pro block the above. But I get a pop-up doing the MS update that I click YES.

I get this here before I see the window to click for the scan.
If I say NO it will not work. I can not reload the page because it does not work right. I have to close IE and go back and do it again and click the YES to get to where you able to get to where you can start the scan. Then the scan can be slow at times and seems to hang at 33 % and 66 % but just wait. If your on daial up then it will be even slower.
 

Attachments

Sooky 47

Thread Starter
Gone and dearly missed
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
7,281
Hi ..... and thanks!

junker39 said:
After you click on the SCAN FOR UPDATES, it doesn't go to "Scanning...33%....66%...and all that?
...... no it is not progressing at all ?

.................................................................................
xgerryx How long does it hang for?
>>> it has hung upwards on 20 minutes or so.

.....................................................................................
hewee .,
>>> I will go back on and set the ms security to a lower setting?
I just took a picture of what the settings are that is on it at this time before any changes - are these settings for java OK?
> I have also installed Mozilla Firefox on his computer hence the "SunJava"
......................................................................
ps. >>>> I had IE6 (sp1) on a cd > so I have already installed that!
almost forgot to tell you that!
.......................................................................

I will wait to hear from you guys ...... before I make any changes!
Thanks,
Lu
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Here is what I have checked on mine.

Now look and your see the order of what is listed is not the same but just check the same one for MS VM.
Also go to your control panel and open up java and go to the browser tap and check that IE has a check in it.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
Hi Sooky,
Should only be a few minutes to scan for needed updates. Has this comp ever been updated and have you run any malware removal programs. eg. spybot and adaware.
 

Sooky 47

Thread Starter
Gone and dearly missed
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
7,281
Hi hewee & xgerryx,
hewee I will go and make changes right after I do this posting and then let you know how I make out .......
xgerryx, the only thing that has been added to 98 has been IE6 - and that is only because I had that on a cd & saved .
I did install spybot and adaware & did scans on it also and things looked good there.
I will get right back to you,
thanks guys!
Lu
 

Sooky 47

Thread Starter
Gone and dearly missed
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
7,281
hewee ... update/ everything you have suggested I checked out and all looks like it is suppose to. I will try the update again/ but ??? will keep you's posted.
thanks,'Lu

ok, I still could not get "scan my computer" Automatic updater to work,
so I just grabbed some items from the 50 most used or whatever it is called/ can you tell I'm getting tired! There was 2 security updates, 2 driver downloads for 98 and a DirectX update for 98 or more recent than version 4 that was installed .
Any other tips / please add.....
Lu
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
How you see what updates there was if you could not get the update to work.
And where you get the 50 most used at?
Do you have dail-up or cable?

Now if you did all the thing above reboot your PC if you had not done so.
Ok I was just thinking maybe you need to add MS to your trust site.
Click on the trust sites. Then the sites button and the other box pops up and you add to it there in the top box and click add and it shows up in the box below. Note the box that is checked at the bottom too.
Ok your way all the way out. Reboot PC.

You can see I don't trust may sites with IE. :D
 

Attachments

Sooky 47

Thread Starter
Gone and dearly missed
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
7,281
Hi hewee,
thanks for the answer back, again! here is the link I used to download from: Microsoft download site I used:

I just went through the lists and picked and chose some that looked like 98 could use them ??????? had to click on the + sign / then chose different llists to review from the left of the page. Drivers/ DirectX etc.

I have cable. Hewee, I haven't downloaded the items as yet/ I am going to download them through Firefox so I can save them and put them on a CD first/ then I will install them. I never thought about the "trusted site " try.
Good idea! thanks, I will definately give it a shot. I will let you know!
thanks again.
I am getting tired/ may not do it till tomorrow mornin'.
Lu
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Thanks on the link you was getting the downloads from.

But yea try the trust site thing first. But I have 98 so zoom in so you can read the two links and type it out right and add it to the list and try again.

Here are all my INTERNET EXPLORER 6 SECURITY SETTINGS I used from this site.

http://www.tpsconsulting.com/tips4.htm

Lots of pictures for you to look at. :eek: :p
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top