1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 98 SE Headache, again!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by stiney, Nov 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stiney

    stiney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    239
    Trying to help my sister with her computer again, feel responsible since I told her to buy it not knowing the horror it was going to cause with all the problems windows 98 SE has brought us.

    So, it does the thing where it hangs on shutdown and freezes in the middle of programs for no good reason. I realize there are a lot of things to do to fix this, haven't done them yet. I'm wondering if fixing this hanging problem will fix our new and very irritating problem.

    Trying to do bookwork with AACPAC Simply Accounting and the computer froze while backing up the files. Couldn't do anything but shut it down, unfortunately, as is common on this machine, CTRL ALT DEL does not work in some instances to shutdown. had to hit reset. Now the simply data is inaccessable, says it's been locked by OEMcomputerKIM. So I gave up on that and restored the data from an earlier backup to start again. Now we're getting low memory messages, it suggested backing up the data, so we tried, froze again, gave us an illegal operation shutdown message. Now it's just sitting there with the backup screen showing not doing anything.

    We have the latest Norton on the computer, I've ran adaware twice. I'm about to go and see what's running in the startup menu. Any other suggestions? This is supposed to be a really good computer with loads of memory and speed and I just can't get around these little windows glitches to get it working the way it should. Help!!
     
  2. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    What kind of machine. Do the msconfig thing. This site can give some insight into the memory, msconfig and other things. Lets get this straightened out and then worry about the shutdown problem.

    No luck here either on the OEMcomputerKIM thing.
     
  3. stiney

    stiney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    239
    Right now I can tell you it's a 850Mhz PIII with 40G (G is that right?) memory, 128 SD RAM, 32 bit video card and aside from that, I have to go to my sister's and look it up and get back to you tomorrow night.

    This computer has had problem after problem since we got it. Programs stepping all over each other and she has a ton of stuff in her Startup files and I'm not sure what needs to stay and what needs to go. It's like every program you load into it goes into the startup file.

    I've been searching for the OEMcomputer thing all day and haven't found a thing either. It seems like running the utility to make a backup disk triggers the whole crash. I'm wondering if the locked file is somehow still running in the memory and eating it up cause she really shouldn't be getting a low memory message, I've been running Simply on a computer with half as much memory for 5 years and have never encountered this problem.

    Anyway, I will get back to you tomorrow with the info. I'm going to load the accounting program onto my laptop and let her do her books on that and then I can have free range to delete whatever I have to off of her computer. Something's definitly screwy.

    Thanks,

    ~Christine.
     
  4. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
  5. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    BTW-Does KIM ring a bell at all? Have you tried a search of the system for KIM or OEM?

    http://www.microsoft.com/oem/sbp/

    OEM Abbreviation of original equipment manufacturer
     
  6. stiney

    stiney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    239
    Sorry about that. My sister's name is Kim. Her name is in the user's thing, when she turns the computer on she's logged on as Kim. Should have said that. I'll have a look at the other links. I was trying to help her over the phone today, tomorrow night I'll be sitting in front of the actual machine so I'll get back to you. Don't forget about me okay. :)
     
  7. stiney

    stiney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    239
    I've removed some files from startup, here's what's left that I don't know whether they should stay or go:

    Taskbar Display Controls
    Microsoft Intellitype Pro
    Country Selection
    Still Image Monitor
    eventmgr.exe
    Lexstart
    LexmarkPrinTray
    Attunediscovery
    Attunesystray
    AttuneContentUpdater
    CorelCentralAlarms
    DesktopApplicationDirector9
    EventReminder
    InterVideoWinDVD Starter

    Not sure which of these I can delete. Some of them are for the Lexmark printer, I'm sure one of them is for the scanner and the other is the DVD drive. Can any of these go?
     
  8. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Taskbar, Lex stuff, Attune, Still image, Event Reminder, Corel can go but some may be your choice.

    Intellitype pro, Country selection stays.

    The rest I am not sure. The first list and the ones that I didnt list you can play with and see if you want to to start at startup or not.
     
  9. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi stiney,check your power supply,make sure its making a good connection.Also try the repair IE option.Go to Start>Settings>control panel>add and remove programs>Highlight IE and tools>click on remove tab>window will open,put a tick in repair IE.Let us know if you get a clean repair.Then go to Start>Shutdown>Restart in ms-dos>At the c:\prompt type

    Smartdrv (then hit enter)
    Deltree/y Tempor~1 (hit enter)
    Deltree/y history (hit enter)
    Deltree/y cookies (hit enter)

    Exit (hit enter)

    After the computer reboots back to windows,go back into dos and type

    Scanreg /fix Hit enter. Notice the space between the g and /

    after that runs just type

    exit (hit enter)

    Let us know if this helps
     
  10. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    I love 98 SE as I am a techie. But you may want to think about upgrading to Windows XP and adding a little more memory. Windows XP Home Edition has lot of automatic recovery and system protection features.
     
  11. stiney

    stiney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    239
    It says Internet Explorer cannot be fixed.

    Also, here is the complete error message I get when I try to open the file that I was backing up when the computer shut down:

    This file is locked by user OEMCOMPUTER at computer Kim. Cannot open this file.


    I took a bunch of the programs out of the startup thing last night, removed the sound file that plays on exit, took the shutdown scan off the floppy drive in Norton and turned off the IRQ Steering and the computer is still freezing at shutdown. Do I install the patch now or is there something else I need to do first?
     
  12. stiney

    stiney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    239
    I don't know about upgrading the memory. This computer is running about 20 times more memory than any other computer we've had Simply Accounting on and the computers with less memory are running it better. Plus it's not my computer, if I tell my sister she needs to buy more memory she just might strangle me. LOL. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    I have Windows ME on my laptop that I just bought. I haven't had any problems with it yet but would you recommend that I upgrade that to XP too? Just curious as I've heard a lot of people complaining about Windows ME.
     
  13. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Ok,go back to the dialog window and instead of repair Ie,put a tick in Add a component.Follow the prompts and select Internet Explorer browser.Ignore the warning,and reinstall it anyway.Now run the repair option and see if you get a clean repair
     
  14. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    Don’t uncheck Still Image Monitor if you have a HP scanner. You probably don’t need more RAM in Win98 for running primarily accounting and office type programs.

    Go to www.updates.com and sign up. It interrogates your computer and tells you what needs updating in both software and drivers. The kinds of problems you are having is often the result of something butting heads and updating everything often fixes known problems. I had an instance in Win95 where my backup software was butting heads with my Intellimouse drivers and another where my scanner driver was really screwing up Win98. Other times updating my stuff fixed little glitches I never did associate with what in particular fixed the problem.

    Make sure you have all of your Win98Se service packs and updates and do the same for IE. If you are using IE 5.5 it would not be necessary to go to IE6, but you should install all of the updates and service packs for IE 5.5. IE 4 was a resource hog on my computer until I installed the first service pack. I’m sticking with 5.5 until the first service pack comes out for version 6. Go here and select product updates: http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/default.htm

    My all time favorite diagnostic tool is TclockEX. You can configure it to display a two digit user resources to the left of the clock: http://users.iafrica.com/d/da/dalen/tclockex.htm

    I eliminated the year and seconds to make it more compact and added the user resources. The bar across the top is CPU use which can be significant. It should be near zero most of the time unless you have recently told the computer to do something. If it consistently sits at a third of the way across or further you have a problem. The green bar across the bottom is your RAM use which is about useless with 128Mb RAM. After you use the computer a while it should be all the way across as Windows caches stuff.

    Right now my clock reads: 73 Thu 22 Nov 1:08: The 75 is showing 75% user resources available and the colon at the end is to keep the last digit of the minutes off the edge. My clock format is: U ddd d MMM h:mm: to get this readout. You can configure it any way you want by right clicking on the clock and choosing TclockEX Properties.

    It is the user resources you really want to keep an eye on. It is part of my regular cross check. Know how many resources each program takes when you open it and how much it gives back when you close it. It is not uncommon to have a program not give back 1% and at most 2%. More than that and you have a resource hog you have to update or replace. The digital readout is more convenient than the Windows resource meter with which you have to use the tooltips every time to get an accurate digital readout.

    You don’t usually have resource problems until they get below 20%. Don’t allow them to get anywhere near that low as it is also an indication you have too much stuff running in the background.
     
  15. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    I recommended Windows XP to get you out of the hot box. A 128MB of RAM is enought for Windows XP, but more is better. Windows XP costs $99 and another 128MB would cost about $50. The PC other wise has the horse power needed for XP.

    As for your laptop, leave it alone. As they say if it not broken, don't fix it. The version of Windows Me on the laptop mostly has been tweaked for it. Ungrading to XP may go smoothly but maybe not you may need a special drive not available on the XP CD, which can cause you problems.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59123

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice