1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 98 startup

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by MRBEE, Dec 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MRBEE

    MRBEE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    267
    Recently, whenever I boot up, my IPS dialer (I still use a 56K modum) pops up. So, if I don't wish to immediately log on to the Internet, I am forced to X out the dialer. Irritating. I've tried to look into the startup files to remove the dialer, but I don't recognize anything that looks like my dialer to remove.

    Can you help me?
     
  2. columbo

    columbo

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,178
    Hi,

    It might be possible that you have another application that is set to run at startup, and that a setting in this application is telling it to access a certain website, launching your browser, and in doing so, prompting you to establish a connection with your ISP.
    Why not post your startup files, just in case somebody here might see something that you don't. It couldn't hurt.
    I would suspect Real Player (if you have it installed), as it usually sets itself to automatically search for and download program updates.

    I may be way off here, or you might need to do a virus scan, but I'd check out these things first.

    Good Luck :)
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  4. MRBEE

    MRBEE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    267
    Tony,

    I read that article and it scared me to death. I think I'll just leave things be. It only amounts to a once a day nuisance where I have to X out the dialer pop up when it appears as I boot up.

    It's really no big deal, and not worth the dangers I would be facing trying to edit the registry.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Relax! :)

    It may really be relatively easy to get rid of it, without you needing to edit the registry.

    Let's have a look at your startup proggies:

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.
     
  6. MRBEE

    MRBEE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    267
    Tony,

    Well, you asked for it:

    Microsoft Windows 98 4.10.1998
    Clean install using OEM Preinstall Kit /T:C:\WININST0.400 /SrcDir=C:\WINDOWS\OPTIONS\CABS /IS /IW /IQ /ID /IV /IZ /II /II /NR /II /C /U:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    IE 5 5.00.2314.1003
    Uptime: 0:01:04:16
    Normal mode
    On "COMPAQ COMPUTER" as "abay"
    Compaq Computer Corporation
    CyrixInstead 6x86MX(tm) Intel MMX(TM) Technology
    252MB RAM
    63% system resources free
    Windows-managed swap file on drive C (687MB free)
    Available space on drive C: 687MB of 4102MB (FAT32)

    ------------------------------------------------

    If it's relatively simple and not risky, I would like to fix this little problem. Otherwise, I would just as soon leave it alone.

    MRBEE
     
  7. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    MRBEE

    That isn't it, try again

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.
     
  8. MRBEE

    MRBEE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    267
    LadyLisa & Tony,

    It's just as well I messed up the first time. I was on my home computer when I copied that stuff, but it's my office computer that has the glitch.

    Anyway, I'm at my office now and here's the data you requested:

    Controller Startup Group "C:\My Documents\WINFAX\WFXCTL32.EXE"

    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun

    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run)SysTray.Exe

    Norton CrashGuard Monitor Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CRASHGUARD\CGMenu.EXE"

    Norton eMail Protect Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POProxy.exe

    NPROTECT Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE

    Norton Auto-Protect Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET

    RealTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\realplay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER

    Eac_Download Registry (Machine Run)C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EACCELERATION\DOWNLOAD.EXE -k
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Well, that does look like a relatively clean list.

    I think you should first dive into the options of Crash Guard, and uncheck 'start Crash Guard as Windows starts', or something similar.
    It causes more crashes than it prevents.

    Now go to Start/Run, and type Msconfig.
    Go to the Startup tab, and uncheck the following 4 items

    Controller
    NPROTECT
    Norton CrashGuard Monitor
    Eac_Download

    Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

    I'm not at all convinced the culprit is among these, but let's start there.

    I also think it might be a good idea to have your computer scanned on line at <A HREF="http://housecall.antivirus.com/">Trend Micro HouseCall </A>

    Good luck,
     
  10. MRBEE

    MRBEE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    267
    Tony,

    Well, I followed your instructions, and . . . .
    VOILA it worked. The dialer no longer starts up at boot up.

    I'm amazed by this website. Every problem I've presented has been quickly resolved. My thanks to you and LadyLisa for your help.

    I didn't have an NPROTECT line to uncheck, but I did spot two checked similar lines: Norton eMail Protect and Norton Auto-Protect. I unchecked them.

    Doesn't that leave me a bit unprotected? Should I recheck them and then see if the old startup dialer problem re-emerges?

    Again -- my thanks.:)
     
  11. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You should recheck Norton Autoprotect and E-mail protect.
    If you don't allow them to start up as Windows loads, you might as well have no antivirus...

    They are more than likely not the cause of your problem anyway.

    Good luck,
     
  12. MRBEE

    MRBEE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    267
    Tony,

    I rechecked them, rebooted, and no problem.

    Once again, my thanks.
     
  13. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You're welcome. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61330

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice