1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 98 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by wilemar, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wilemar

    wilemar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I have an older Dell Latitude Laptop - 12 GB HD; CPU is Intel Pentium IIIE, 500 MHz; System memory is 192MB (SDRAM). It is a secondary computer (I have a fairly new desktop) that is used less often. My question is, can I upgrade to a later operating system, i.e. Win XP? If
    so what would I have to do? Secondly, would it be economically acceptable to go this route or is there a better alternative? I would very much appreciate any input and advice on this.

    Thanks,
    Wilemar
     
  2. buddythedog

    buddythedog

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Although you do meet the system requirements, you won't be happy with XP. Your system will most likely be slow and there is good chance that drivers may not be available for some of your equipment. You may or may not be able to upgrade RAM which could help.
     
  3. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,632
    Hi XP needs as a minimum.
    Processor speed of 700-800 Mhz.
    And 256 Mb of Ram.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,453
    First Name:
    Frank
    Ditto to reply #3.

    If you have 98SE in that computer, don't try to upgrade to XP. 98SE will run fine with a 500 MHz processor and 192 MB of RAM, especially if you keep the startup list to a minimum, don't try to use graphic-extensive apps, and you perform regular maintenance.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. wilemar

    wilemar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks much to the three persons who responded to my post. None were encouraging so I guess upgrading is not a very good idea. Now I'll have to figure out what is the best "plan B".

    Thanks again,
    Wilemar
     
  6. Fredledingue

    Fredledingue

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    378
  7. wilemar

    wilemar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks for your suggestion and for all the sites. They really looks great! But, I am hearing from some that I should be careful about making changes because they are going on a laptop. They tell me the OS for Laptops are versions that have been specifically designed for use on laptops, and that the hardware / software interface on laptops is very finicky. What is your opinion on this? I just want to be cautious before I begin. Thanks for your help.

    Wilemar
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    There's no such thing as a special version of Windows for laptops.
     
  9. Fredledingue

    Fredledingue

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    No, it's true that there are special versions for laptop but I think it came with 2000 and XP.

    However, most of the updates on the website (a forum actualy) should not modify the core installation except for the uSP2.1.
    Be careful with this one. While it's the most important update (literaly make a w98 Third edition), hardware issues can occure.
    Make sure you have the installation cd before starting and a start up disk.
     
  10. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I've never heard of special versions of Windows 2000 or Windows XP for laptops. Perhaps you're thinking of Windows XP Tablet edition. That's only for tablet PCs.
     
  11. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    bogus info on processor speed, this machine is a p2/450 w/256m ram and it runs the same apps as are on the p4/512m. both are xppro.:cool:
     
  12. Fredledingue

    Fredledingue

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    AFAIK, XP doesn't need a special processor speed and minimum ram is, theoricaly, 128Mb. Thought if you run XP on a 100Mhz and just 128Mb, it will be quite slow.


    I didn't heard of commercialised edition "for laptop" but I have heard of laptop (mine BTW) which has factory pre-installed OS and this OS is an XP adapted to this laptop.
    Those laptop are usualy not delivered with the XP CD, but with a recovery CD since they can't distribute modified XP versions.
    It doesn't mean that a regular XP fresh install will not work but you should be careful with the drivers. Build-in XP drivers may work but not be the best. Make sure you downloaded all the drivers from the manufacturer website before starting.
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Windows XP may be configured differently on a laptop, but it's not a customized version of Windows. A restore partition or restore CDs generally restore all drivers and pre-installed software. The operating system is an OEM version, but it's still just Windows.
     
  14. Leec65

    Leec65

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    I set up a 400Mhz with 256 of ram, with XP in old baby AT case and it worked great for email and the web
     
  15. wilemar

    wilemar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks very much to all who answered my inquiry. I appreciate all the good input and will carefuly consider all suggestions as I make the upgrades. Sorry for the slow comeback - I have been out of town. When I get back I will go to work on this. Thanks again.

    Wilemar
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544309

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice