Windows 98SE insusfficent memory

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gameman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
269
Hi all,
Well recently I added a gig of memory to a dual booting system (98SE and Win2000) bringing the total to 1.5gig and while windows 2000 runs fine, 98SE gives the error "insusfficent memory to initalize windows" at boot. I know about MaxPhysPage=30000 and MaxFileCache configuration settings in system.ini however I still have the issue (which is odd). When the error occurs the system shuts down . Any other possible work arounds? Thanks in advance. Here is a copy of my system.ini file:

[boot]
oemfonts.fon=vgaoem.fon
shell=Explorer.exe
system.drv=system.drv
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv
user.exe=user.exe
gdi.exe=gdi.exe
sound.drv=mmsound.drv
dibeng.drv=dibeng.dll
comm.drv=comm.drv
mouse.drv=mouse.drv
keyboard.drv=keyboard.drv
*DisplayFallback=0
fonts.fon=vgasys.fon
fixedfon.fon=vgafix.fon
386Grabber=vgafull.3gr
display.drv=pnpdrvr.drv

[keyboard]
keyboard.dll=
oemansi.bin=
subtype=
type=4

[boot.description]
system.drv=Standard PC
keyboard.typ=Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
mouse.drv=Standard mouse
aspect=100,96,96
display.drv=RADEON 9600 SERIES (Omega 2.6.37)

[386Enh]
ebios=*ebios
woafont=dosapp.fon
mouse=*vmouse, msmouse.vxd
device=*dynapage
device=*vcd
device=*vpd
device=*int13
device=*enable
keyboard=*vkd
display=*vdd,*vflatd
PagingDrive=C:
REM MinPagingFileSize=524288
REM MaxPagingFileSize=716800
MaxPhysPage=30000

[NonWindowsApp]
TTInitialSizes=4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 18 20 22

[power.drv]

[drivers]
wavemapper=*.drv
MSACM.imaadpcm=*.acm
MSACM.msadpcm=*.acm
wave=mmsystem.dll
midi=mmsystem.dll

[iccvid.drv]

[mciseq.drv]

[mci]
cdaudio=mcicda.drv
sequencer=mciseq.drv
waveaudio=mciwave.drv
avivideo=mciavi.drv
videodisc=mcipionr.drv
vcr=mcivisca.drv
MPEGVideo=mciqtz.drv
MPEGVideo2=mciqtz.drv

[vcache]
MaxFileCache=65536

[Password Lists]
PASS=C:\WINDOWS\PASS.PWL





[MSNP32]

VIDC.YVYU=msyuv.dll

[drivers32]
msacm.lhacm=lhacm.acm
VIDC.VDOM=vdowave.drv
MSACM.imaadpcm=imaadp32.acm
MSACM.msadpcm=msadp32.acm
MSACM.msgsm610=msgsm32.acm
msacm.msg711=msg711.acm
MSACM.trspch=tssoft32.acm
vidc.CVID=iccvid.dll
VIDC.IV31=ir32_32.dll
VIDC.IV32=ir32_32.dll
vidc.MSVC=msvidc32.dll
VIDC.MRLE=msrle32.dll
msacm.msg723=msg723.acm
vidc.M263=msh263.drv
vidc.M261=msh261.drv
VIDC.IV50=ir50_32.dll
msacm.iac2=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IAC25_32.AX
VIDC.UYVY=msyuv.dll
msacm.msaudio1=msaud32.acm
msacm.sl_anet=sl_anet.acm
msacm.l3acm=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\L3CODECA.ACM
VIDC.YUY2=msyuv.dll
msacm.voxacm160=vct3216.acm
VIDC.YVYU=msyuv.dll
vidc.DIVX=DivX.dll

[Display]

[TTFontDimenCache]
0 4=2 4
0 5=3 5
0 6=4 6
0 7=4 7
0 8=5 8
0 9=5 9
0 10=6 10
0 11=7 11
0 12=7 12
0 13=8 13
0 14=8 14
0 15=9 15
0 16=10 16
0 18=11 18
0 20=12 20
0 22=13 22
 

gameman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
269
going from left to right, the first sick is 512m and the second is 1gig.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Hi check link.
http://www.aumha.org/win4/a/memmgmt.php

"For systems with more than 1 GB of RAM, the defaults in Windows 98 or ME can cause continuous rebooting of the computer, or to hangs or serial reboots during the Windows upgrade process. To resolve this problem, add a MaxPhysPage=40000 entry in the [386enh] section of SYSTEM.INI. This effectively limits the amount of RAM Windows can access to 1 GB. (Microsoft limits ths recommendation to systems having more than 1.5 GB of RAM, but the solution is to roll it back to 1 GB. See MSKB 304943.) Microsoft has now flatly stated that, “Windows Me and Windows 98 are not designed to handle more than 1 GB or RAM. More than 1 GB can lead to potential system instability.”
 

gameman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
269
Hmm I have tried MaxPhysPage=40000 30000 and even 20000 (512mb). It is odd as I know the same settings have worked for others. :/ Any other suggestions?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
286
how far into the Bootup do you get? does it show you that it loads 64 K and then the extended memory?
if you get to the start menu can you do a "step by step" startup?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
286
i think what i am after is the config.sys file. does it load? if you do a step by step you can see if it runs and at what line it brings up the error. i think the system.ini file is OK. (my paging file is set to 2048000 about 2 * my ram)
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
98 is very fussy about matched memory as well & often can't read unmatched memory

depending on the bios settings in your computer I have found that 98 often won't see the 1gb chip in slot 2 at all but would see 2 x 512 chips

you could try the 1gb in slot1 & 512 in slot 2 & see if that makes a difference

does 98 boot ok with just the 1gb in slot 1 & nothing in slot 2
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Run MSCONFIG and on the General tab make sure "Process SYSTEM.INI File" is checked.
 

gameman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
269
I don't get that far into the bootup, it seems to hang a few seconds before the "windows98" splash screen then a microsecond later I get the memory error. Safemode does not work of course. And I know it is set to process the system.ini file. I haven't tried switching the memory around as it was very tight fit in the first place and I want to try everything else possible first. I will do a step by step bootup in a minute and report back.

Also it must be seeing the 1gig stick as it was running fine with just the 512mb stick. When I added the 1gig stick that is when the problems started
 

gameman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
269
Sorry for my delayed response. I did finally manage to get into Win98. The settings that worked are MaxPhysPage=40000 and MaxFileCache=64000. The strange thing is I had tried REM MaxFileCache=65535 and that hadn't worked. Also the first time I tried these settings it didn't, then I ran a step by step confirmation and it booted! And I know I had all of the options checked (config, autoexc, etc) in msconfig for boot. Also it boots fine every time now. The only problem I am having is occasionally getting a out of memory error. For example Winclam has this problem when trying to do a update or scan.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top