Windows Defender

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Assass1n

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
71
How do I turn it on? i got to Security and it says Windows Defender is off. When I click Turn on, it says Searching for updated definitions, but it says there are no updates available and then it still says that Windows Defender is off
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
3
When trying to update Windows Defender, you must make sure that "GET UPDATES FOR MORE PRODUCTS" is not checked on Windows Update. Then it will download your updates.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
You need to be sure the service is on in Services....Control Panel, Admin Tools, Services
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
No only to you want the Windows Defender service on, but you want to have it set to Automatic if you want to have it set to start in the future.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Bob,
That is what "on" means, though your term may be more illuminating, I doubt seriously many failed to understand what you meant and all these ungrammatical duplicate explanatory posts, are hardly necessary.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
When you look at a service, there are several status and startup types you can have:

They are either Started or not started. There is no on.
The options for Service status is: Start, Stop, Pause and Resume. Again no on
To Start a services, you click on the Start button for that service.

Startup type is the one I wanted to make sure was set correctly. The Startup type indicates how a particular service will start, or not start, the next time the computer boots.
Options here are Automatic, Manual or Disabled and Vista has a new one called Automatic (Delayed Start).

So the important additional part, if you want that service to start automatically and not have to keep starting it manually in the future, is to make sure the Startup type for the service is set to Automatic.

This way, not only is the Service Started for that session, but for the future as well.
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
1
I have the exact same problem as the OP.
Security *says* that Defender is OFF, but it does in fact work and does a daily scan. If I click on Turn On Now it goes away and checks for an update, tells me it's up to date, but still shows OFF.
In Services it is set to Automatic.
I have downloaded the Defender installation file but Vista won't let me load it - says it's already installed as part of Vista.
Although it is working, I would like to clear the false indication.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top