1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows does not recognize my touchpad..

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rogue54, Jul 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rogue54

    rogue54 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional , 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2038 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 384 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 152524 MB, Free - 112007 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, ISKAA, 1.00, 0123456789AB
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2011, Updated and Enable

    About 2 months ago I opened and was cleaning out my laptop. This is something I normally do every couple of months. I connected everything back, but when I turned it on I noticed my touchpad was not working. I disassembled it again and while I was looking at the ribbon I noticed the connectors on the ribbon were messed up. I found a new ribbon that was the same as the one I had in it and put that one in. When I turn it on the touchpad was still not working. I check device manager but it was not seeing the touchpad. My question is this, could the messed up ribbon have fried the on board connector for the touchpad or could the ribbon not be the right one?
     
  2. managed

    managed Allan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,350
    I'd say chances are it's the wrong type of ribbon and it would work if you fit the correct one.
    You say the one you fitted was the same as the original one, is it identical ?
     
  3. rogue54

    rogue54 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Well it has the same thickness and the same amount of connectors, but the one the was messed up was white and this one was black. The one thing I was wondering is could the connector on the mother board be fried and that is the reason its not working? and if something did get fried on the motherboard would I still be able to use it?
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You first need to get the right connector. I highly doubt you "fried" something. It just isn't connected properly because you're not using the right cable.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1007408