1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Explorer crashes when I open My Music

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BaconIsGood, Nov 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    My OS is Windows XP and the message I get is "Windows Explorer has encountered an problem and must shut down. Sorry for the inconvienence."

    This also happens when I right-click on the desktop, but after that message, I get a similar one from Dr. Postmortem Debugger (or something like that) and the computer freezes.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    go to here and download 'Hijack This!'.
    First make a folder on your computer in my documents called Hijackthis and then Unzip it to that folder.
    Then doubleclick the Hijackthis.exe.
    Click the "Scan" button, when the scan is finished the scan button will become "Save Log" click that and save the log.
    Go to where you saved the log and click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" then Paste the log back here in a reply.
    It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required,
    so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
     
  3. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 10:11:32 PM, on 11/26/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Stardock\SDMCP.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_05\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\FRAPS\FRAPS.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    C:\WINNT\explorer.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 4.0\Reader\AcroRd32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn1\ycomp5_5_5_0.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn1\ycomp5_5_5_0.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINNT\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_05\bin\jusched.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINNT\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINNT\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Fraps] C:\PROGRAM FILES\FRAPS\FRAPS.EXE
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: RaptisoftGameLoader - http://www.miniclip.com/hamsterball/raptisoftgameloader.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst20040510.cab
    O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} (FilePlanet Download Control Class) - http://www.fileplanet.com/fpdlmgr/cabs/FPDC_1_0_0_44.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D1E7CBDA-E60E-4970-A01C-37301EF7BF98} (Measurement Service Client v.3.4) - http://ccon.futuremark.com/global/msc34.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F54C1137-5E34-4B95-95A5-BA56D4D8D743} (Secure Delivery) - http://www.gamespot.com/KDX/kdx.cab
     
  4. Funkmeister

    Funkmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    424
    Bacon, you need the latest version of HijackThis - go HERE, then repost the new log. Don't change anything just yet.

    Regards,
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    Go to start/run type msconfig and press ok, go to the start up tab and untick the entry for frap

    press ok, agree to the warninmg about starting in selective mode and reboot

    see if taht cures the problem

    I've seen this a few times with video capture devices starting at boot time when the video camera or other input source isn't actually connected
     
  6. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Heres the updated log from version 1.98.2

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 10:00:56 AM, on 11/27/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Stardock\SDMCP.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_05\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    C:\Program Files\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn1\ycomp5_5_5_0.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn1\ycomp5_5_5_0.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINNT\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_05\bin\jusched.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINNT\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINNT\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINNT\System32\msjava.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINNT\System32\msjava.dll
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    O16 - DPF: RaptisoftGameLoader - http://www.miniclip.com/hamsterball/raptisoftgameloader.cab
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst20040510.cab
    O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} (FilePlanet Download Control Class) - http://www.fileplanet.com/fpdlmgr/cabs/FPDC_1_0_0_44.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D1E7CBDA-E60E-4970-A01C-37301EF7BF98} (Measurement Service Client v.3.4) - http://ccon.futuremark.com/global/msc34.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F54C1137-5E34-4B95-95A5-BA56D4D8D743} (Secure Delivery) - http://www.gamespot.com/KDX/kdx.cab

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  7. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Oh, and turning off fraps did not fix the problem. (Fraps records whats on screen, it is not software for a camera)
     
  8. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
  9. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
  10. BaconIsGood

    BaconIsGood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/301123

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice