1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows fails to load

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Whiteninja89, Jul 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Whiteninja89

    Whiteninja89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    I just recently gave my computer I had to my 15 year old sister. Iv'e had this system for four years and this has never happened to me before. The day after I gave it to her, she told me that it would not load. It gets all the way to the windows XP loading screen with the small green dots moving at the bottom then the dots just stop moving. The hard drive light is still lit up like its doing something but after an hour or so of leaving it on like that it was still frozen. I was able to load it up in safe mode and remove any adware/spyware on it and get a hijack this log. I'm not sure what it is she does on it but in all the time iv'e had the machine its never done this before.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 5:48:58 PM, on 7/27/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.zophar.net/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = about:blank
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = about:blank
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\blank.htm
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\blank.htm
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {00C6482D-C502-44C8-8409-FCE54AD9C208} - C:\Program Files\TechSmith\SnagIt 6\SnagItBHO.dll
    O2 - BHO: NavErrRedir Class - {00D6A7E7-4A97-456f-848A-3B75BF7554D7} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {029CA12C-89C1-46a7-A3C7-82F2F98635CB} - C:\Program Files\Kontiki\bin\bh309190.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: SnagIt - {8FF5E183-ABDE-46EB-B09E-D2AAB95CABE3} - C:\Program Files\TechSmith\SnagIt 6\SnagItIEAddin.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINDVDPatch] CTHELPER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pop-Up Stopper] "C:\Program Files\Panicware\Pop-Up Stopper\dpps2.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus CX5200] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC2.EXE /P19 "EPSON Stylus CX5200" /O6 "USB001" /M "Stylus CX5200"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\Updreg.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTStartup] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy\Program\CTEaxSpl.EXE /run
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Jet Detection] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBAudigy\PROGRAM\ADGJDet.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DELUXECC] C:\WINDOWS\twain_32\SiPix\SCDeluxe\DELUXECC.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Disc Detector] C:\Program Files\Creative\ShareDLL\CtNotify.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTHelper] CTHELPER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AsioReg] REGSVR32.EXE /S CTASIO.DLL
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSNSysRestore] C:\WINDOWS\System32\pc32.exe bg
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ADUserMon] C:\Program Files\Iomega\AutoDisk\ADUserMon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Iomega Drive Icons] C:\Program Files\Iomega\DriveIcons\ImgIcon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Deskup] C:\Program Files\Iomega\DriveIcons\deskup.exe /IMGSTART
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [P2P Networking] C:\WINDOWS\System32\P2P Networking\P2P Networking.exe /AUTOSTART
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [updmgr] C:\Program Files\Common files\updmgr\updmgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AltnetPointsManager] C:\Program Files\Altnet\Points Manager\Points Manager.exe -s
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LVCOMS] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\QCDriver2\LVCOMS.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechGalleryRepair] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\ISStart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechImageStudioTray] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\LogiTray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MoneyAgent] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Express.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O4 - Global Startup: InterVideo WinCinema Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Logitech Desktop Messenger.lnk = C:\Program Files\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\LDMConf.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {0E8D0700-75DF-11D3-8B4A-0008C7450C4A} (DjVuCtl Class) - http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/common/cab/DjVuControlLite_EN.cab
    O16 - DPF: {1D6711C8-7154-40BB-8380-3DEA45B69CBF} (Web P2P Installer) -
    O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} (FilePlanet Download Control Class) - http://www.fileplanet.com/fpdlmgr/cabs/FPDC_1_0_0_44.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {886DDE35-E955-11D0-A707-000000521958} - http://69.56.176.78/webplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37590.7840740741
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{77307495-1BA9-4024-A177-E726211B35B5}: NameServer = 24.95.227.34,24.95.227.35
     
  2. bowmar

    bowmar

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    618
    if you can start up in safe mode - do so. Then run msconfig from run command, in startup remove all except 'Power Profile' & 'System Tray', reboot computer and if it goes back into windows start re-enabling programs like Anti-Virus & Firewalls Etc, anything else i would leave out. This if it works will highlight the problem.
    Can't help with Hijack This Log - Sorry !
     
  3. Whiteninja89

    Whiteninja89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Thanks, I looked into this and checked only systray because power manager didnt show up in that list. It still frezzes during the startup though.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    P2P networking and no virus program :eek:
     
  5. Whiteninja89

    Whiteninja89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    I did a virus scan using the an online virus scanner and no viruses were found. Is there anything else I can do to fix this problem?
     
  6. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    Make sure no USB devices are plugged in
     
  7. Whiteninja89

    Whiteninja89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    There was a logitech usb webcam attached but the problem still persists after I disconected it and started it up.
     
  8. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    Try the SAFE MODE (tapping F8) and see if it'll go....then since you unplugged the webcam, try a normal boot.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/255059

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice