1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Window's fails to start

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by robes3393, May 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    When I try to boot my computer I was faced with this error:

    [​IMG]


    First I tried using the Windows 7 disk to repair the startup files. Everytime it scan's for windows installations, it shows my hdd as D:\. My windows install has always been on C:\ so this is strange.

    Running the repair anyway, finishes by saying it cannot be repaired automatically.

    If I try system restore, they all say they are for C:\ and fail, since it is recognizing D:\ I suppose.

    I removed my hard drive and put it in a USB enclosure. Plugged it into my laptop and downloaded a new netio.sys file from online. I placed it in the correct directory and replaced the old file.

    Now when i boot my computer I get this:

    [​IMG]

    After more research, I tried booting windows and pressing F8, and then booting without looking for signature's to bypass the verification.

    This just gives me the first error, and says the file is missing or corrupt again.

    Any help here would be greatly appreciated. I would love to fix the issue of 1 corrupted file vs reinstalling fresh windows.

    Thanks, Robes
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    On F8 try booting safe mode
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    If the above does not work we need to go cmd prompt from repair your computer to then check on diskpart - which lettered drive (partition) windows is installed on.


    On cmd prompt which will be an X:\
    prompt - being a ram drive created for recovery purposes
    copy and paste this
    echo list volume | diskpart


    press enter and when it loads check which lettered drive 7 is on


    This - that you did
    is the cause of the digital signature error
    downloading such from online is not generally a good idea



    I am signing off for the night in about 30 minutes
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2015
  4. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Safe mode gives me the same black screen error.

    I went to command prompt and ran diskpart. What exactly am I looking for here? My drive shows up as D. There is a "System Restore" which is on C: but im unsure what drive it is actually on. Ive never had a System Restore partition before
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2015
  5. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    would using a netio.sys file from an install disk be verified?
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    Sorry, as I said on post 3


    I am signing off for the night in about 30 minutes





    I have now gone for the night it is 0054 back about 1800 UK time


    You need to check on diskpart that the file system on the system reserved and on the windows is NTFS
    not shown as RAW
    so go back and run the diskpart cmd again and check that and check if shown healthy
    also check the size of the windows partition - you will know I think if the size shown is about right


    Are you sure it is shown as system restore and NOT system recovery - system reserved is normally 100MB


    exit out of diskpart


    run this cmd


    bcdedit | find /i "OSDEVICE"


    This outputs something like osdevice partition=E: where the very last letter is your Windows/system drive letter. It might be some other letter in your case.
    presumably it will return D -


    if so change drive letter from X:\
    to the allocated letter eg D
    by typing
    D:


    and then at D:
    type
    chkdsk /r


    GOODNIGHT I will resume when I return
     
  7. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Get some rest! I appreciate the help, no rush though.

    Yes you're right, it was system reserve and not system recovery. Both were NTFS and healthy.

    I ran bcdedit | find /i "OSDEVICE" and it was D:, so i ran the chkdisk.

    It fixed one file I think and then finished by saying, "Failed to transfer logged messages to the event log with status 50."
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    Sorry I am late online


    Try this please at the X Prompt


    sfc /scannow /offbootdir=c:\ /offwindir=d:\windows


    Re your last the failure to create the event log is nothing to worry about that is because we are in the recovery environment and not in windows
     
  9. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Sorry for the delay in reply.

    When doing "sfc /scannow /offbootdir=c:\ /offwindir=d:\windows" it starts the system scan and says it will take some time, but then right away says "Windows Resource Protection could not preform the requested operation."
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    You will not be surprised to know that apart from the email notification of your post I have no memory of what the problem was or what we had done
    I have helped on many topics since then, give me time to refresh my knowledge
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    Go back please to cmd prompt
    type
    diskpart


    press enter
    when cmd is now diskpart


    type
    list volume


    press enter


    post please exactly what is shown under headings
    volume
    letter
    label
     
  12. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    volume 0 Ltr: F Label: (blank) Type: DVD-Rom
    volume 1 Ltr: E Label: UDF Volume FS: UDF Type: DVD-Rom
    volume 2 Ltr: C Label: System Res FS: NTFS Type: Partition Size: 100mb Status: Healthy
    volume 3 Ltr: D Label: (blank) FS: NTFS Type: Partition Size: 74 GB Status: Healthy
    volume 4 Ltr: G Label: (blank) FS: (blank) Type: Removable Size: 0 B Status: no media

    thanks for your help.
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    TRY
    sfc /scannow /offbootdir=d:\ /offwindir=d:\windows

    see what happens please
     
  14. robes3393

    robes3393 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    The same thing happens. Its says:

    "windows resource portection could not preform the requestedoperation."
     
  15. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,314
    Going back to post 5 - lets try it that way
    Is the Windows dvd the installation disc and does it include sp1
    if so follow this please


    1. download to another computer a copy of 7zip
    http://www.7-zip.org/


    the same version as YOUR Windows 7 eg the 32 or 64 bit
    install that program


    2. Insert the windows 7 dvd - do not boot from it of course but open the files and check that you then open sources and that you have the install wim
    please see screenshot


    3. Having verified that, come out of there and open 7zip
    on the tools tab click options and then click the button select all, then click apply and ok


    4. Now navigate to your dvd and again open the sources folder
    then open the install.wim file
    when you open that one a window will open briefly before it returns to 7zip


    5. When 7zip is back as the active window you will then see
    folders numbered 1 to 4 or 5 and an xml file


    6. Double click the xml file and IE will open - see screenshot with a list of the versions
    Mine is Windows 7 professional which as you can see is image index 5.


    7. Having verified your version on that list return to 7zip and open that numbered folder
    then open windows
    then system32
    then drivers


    8. Now scroll down to netio.sys (although yours is 64 bit windows Ultimate the driver that is apparently causing the problem is still in the system32 drivers)
    select that - NOT open it
    click Extract on the shortcut icon bar of 7 zip and choose on the window that opens to extract to a flash pen


    When Netio.sys is corrupted often so is
    tcpip.sys


    so extract that as well.


    9. Exit all out of there and return to the faulty computer with the flash pen
    Open the cmd prompt recovery environment
    and issue a copy cmd to replace the netio.sys and tcpip.sys
    you should receive a - do you wish to replace - over write the files


    10. The copy cmd is
    Copy "C:\netio.sys" "C:\Windows\System32\drivers\netio.sys"

    12. NOTE change the address of the first from C:\netio.sys
    TO the flash pen in the recovery environment established by running Diskpart again
    DO NOT forget to change the
    C:\Windows\
    to the D: in the recovery - as previously commented on

    13. Any questions please ask

    NOTE
    Sorry no guarantees this will work but you cannot be in a worse situation even if it does not
    Good luck with it
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148820

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice