Windows Firewall or Zonealarm on Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
I recently puchased a new computer with Vista. It has windows firewall. I can also install Zone alarm firewall. Which one is better or should I have both firewalls on?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,661
I am using Vista own firewall, enabled outbound blocking and added rules to allow IE and a few other processes to reach the outside world. I think Zonealarm will be easier to configure.
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
I am also using the Vista own (windows) firewall as well as Norton Internet Security which was provided free for a period of 2 months. However I do not want to subscribe to Norton and that is why I am thinking of replacing the Norton with Zone alarm firewall.

Is it a good idea to have both the Vista and Zone alarm firewalls on at the same time? If not, then which one should I have on?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
3,832
joemoshi said:
Is it a good idea to have both the Vista and Zone alarm firewalls on at the same time? If not, then which one should I have on?
I haven't tried either firewall so I'm not sure which one is better but you should never run 2 firewalls at the same time,

are you talking about the paid or free version of zonealarm?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2006
Messages
235
Just be cautious running the new version of ZA free because it has the programs of the suite hidden underneath.:)
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
Stingray10 Can you be more explicit please. How do I go about being cautious? What can happen and what procedure should I follow? Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2006
Messages
235
All ZASS is in the free download,like the Kaspersky antivirus.You might have a problem with the antivirus your going to run.This is why it's download is large.This is your decision to make but if i was going for a firewall I'd choose Comodo or Online Armor free.;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top