1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows ftp ...how to use?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Shamrock, Feb 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    Using the windows ftp program how do you get your personal web page published?
    Need step by step info
     
  2. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    You go to IE and open it.
    In the address window type:
    ftp//username:p[email protected]www.yoursite.com and hit enter.
    I usually put IE on one side the monitor and windows explorer on the other, just drag and drop the files from explorer to IE.
     
  3. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
  4. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    I tried that and all I get is 'invalid command'. I admit, I don't know what I'm doing...:D
     
  5. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    You have ftp with nothing in front of it?
    I've used it for a long time, works great cause it don't timeout and make you reenter.
    Try copy and paste this link into the address bar, I just tried it and I know it works:
    ftp://ftp.microsoft.com
     
  6. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    I have two web page files I've uploaded to the same place. How do I link the second page to the first?
    Writing in the link to my index.html file doesn't work...nothing shows up
     
  7. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    I am a bit confused, but I think you would be better off using something like WSFTP_LE for your FTP. Second, you should just have to add the code
    < a href="www.yourdomain.com/yoursecondpage" > your description here < /a > to get to the second page.

    Removing the spaces after and before the < & > brackets I gave you.

    John
     
  8. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    I did that and it didn't work
     
  9. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    If you second page is off the server of the main page, you would have to add "http://" to the front of the www. Are you remembering to add the .HTM or .HTML to the end? It is prebably also case-sensitive.

    How about posting the URL for us to take a look at?

    John

    Edit

    This just caught my eye again.

    Make sure you have som e text between the > and the < /A >

    Also make sure the link is BEFORE the < /body > and < /HTML > tags.
     
  10. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    Using the windows FTP I just copied and pasted the individual files....my index.html and the graphics etc. one by one. I have a second text page there also that is: My_Page.html
    When I write in the code to link from my index.html to the My_Page.html nothing shows up on the link page to click on.
     
  11. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Could you post the URL for the page here please?

    John
     
  12. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    789
    I got my two pages to link.
    I have a wav file on my 'home' page and I had written the code for the link below the code for the wav. I just copied the link code above the wav code and it worked.
    Does anybody know why that worked??
     
  13. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Would have to see the html code for the page to explain it but glad you have it working now.
     
  14. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Like Del said, we would have to see the code. If you would post the URL here we could look at it!
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117706

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice