Windows Installer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

helstonian

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
6
Whenever I open Outlook a Windows Installer box appears for a few seconds then disappears, partially, then completely. This also happens whenever I open an Office application. I think that this problem has happened since I automatically downloaded Windows/Office updates. Your help to solve this irritating problem would be greatly appreciated.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi helstonian


What version of Office are you using?
Is there anything else to the message besides "Windows Installer", an error number?

Let us know.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
54
You can try a detect and repair. In Outlook, Help >> Detect and Repair.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
Also, do you have multiple versions of Office installed? (In addition to the other questions.)
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Use Windows Installer CleanUp Utility to remove entries for any software that you no longer have installed, if any.

If you know what program the installer is for, try uninstalling, rebooting, and reinstalling. Or see if an updated version is available.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
54
Zack makes a good point. I ran into that issue with an installer popping up when accessing Outlook. It was because there was a windows 2000 office installed as well. Removed office 2000 and all was well...
 

helstonian

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
6
Am running XP Pro with SP3. Only have Office 2007 installed. Have tried a "repair" to the office suite software but that has not cured the problem. I think that the problem first occured when I automatically downloaded and installed SP3, but I'm not sure. I've tried using Windows Uninstaller to clean out any program remnants but again without any success. I have also used my McAfee software to clean up my C drive and that has not stopped the Installer problem.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
Hmm, sometimes that will happen when some components were not installed on the first installation. Are you sure you have a complete install? You can always reinstall over the top of it w/o issue. With 2007, if you do a standard install, everything should be installed on the first go around. The Office Install team is.. quirky.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top