1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Installer

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by helstonian, Oct 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. helstonian

    helstonian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Whenever I open Outlook a Windows Installer box appears for a few seconds then disappears, partially, then completely. This also happens whenever I open an Office application. I think that this problem has happened since I automatically downloaded Windows/Office updates. Your help to solve this irritating problem would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,161
    Hi helstonian


    What version of Office are you using?
    Is there anything else to the message besides "Windows Installer", an error number?

    Let us know.
     
  3. eric996

    eric996

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    You can try a detect and repair. In Outlook, Help >> Detect and Repair.
     
  4. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Also, do you have multiple versions of Office installed? (In addition to the other questions.)
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Use Windows Installer CleanUp Utility to remove entries for any software that you no longer have installed, if any.

    If you know what program the installer is for, try uninstalling, rebooting, and reinstalling. Or see if an updated version is available.
     
  6. eric996

    eric996

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Zack makes a good point. I ran into that issue with an installer popping up when accessing Outlook. It was because there was a windows 2000 office installed as well. Removed office 2000 and all was well...
     
  7. helstonian

    helstonian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Am running XP Pro with SP3. Only have Office 2007 installed. Have tried a "repair" to the office suite software but that has not cured the problem. I think that the problem first occured when I automatically downloaded and installed SP3, but I'm not sure. I've tried using Windows Uninstaller to clean out any program remnants but again without any success. I have also used my McAfee software to clean up my C drive and that has not stopped the Installer problem.
     
  8. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Hmm, sometimes that will happen when some components were not installed on the first installation. Are you sure you have a complete install? You can always reinstall over the top of it w/o issue. With 2007, if you do a standard install, everything should be installed on the first go around. The Office Install team is.. quirky.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756126

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice