1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows is not genuine

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Kendaniel, Jun 23, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Kendaniel

    Kendaniel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    I have had my laptop for over 15 years and recently had a virus so had to reload the whole system since then i now get constant messages telling me windows is not genuine does anyone know how i can solve this windows 7, 64.
    I have had to reset several times but this will not work now (rearm) Help please.
    i also have the problem that i cannot read the product key on the comp because it has worn away..
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2019
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,952
    Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
    • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,804
    First Name:
    Terry
    A 15 year old PC preceded Windows 7. Hence, the COA Product Key would not be for Windows 7. If you have a legitimate version you should also have the Product Key stored away with the installation DVD or wherever you keep your important computer documents. You may want to say something about this in addition to the MGADiag.
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,952
    Yes, I was going to point that out once the log was posted.
     
  5. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    You can only run the slmgr.vbs -rearm "This being a legitimate legal Microsoft command." I do believe 3 times and have it effective so your out of luck there. Interesting you would know this legitimate MS advanced command. You would have to reroute the CMD DIR to the DIR were this command file lives. So your going to have to Download MGADiag as was requested. I'm amazed Win7 runs on that old box anyway.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1229016

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice