1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows ME Problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Djas00, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Djas00

    Djas00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    147
    When I start my computer it freezes right before it shows the windows me loading screen.

    Windows ME
    80GB Maxtor HD
    224MB RAM
    Nvidia TNT2 32MB Graphic card
     
  2. joe2cool

    joe2cool

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    press alt/ctrl/delete at the same time, should load

    Also do an online scan at panda or housecall anti virus. Also if you have not already d/l spybot search and destroy,update it,run it.
    d/l ad-ware also & do the same.

    Also could try Control Panel>Add Remove Programs. Click on Microsoft Internet Explorer then click Add/Remove. You should see the option to repair. Click this and see if the repair helps.

    Also Remember that certain software installed can cause hang ups with the OS !
     
  3. Djas00

    Djas00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    147
    I haven't install anything new on the computer and this computer hasn't went online in about 1.2 years.
     
  4. starwaves77

    starwaves77

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    540
    Since you haven't been on the internet, you can rule out spyware, trojans/virus's (assuming you haven't shared something)

    Here's a couple simple things to check first:

    Reboot and immediately tap the F8 key about once per second, you'll come to the 'startup screen where you can select 'safe mode.' Select it using your up and down arrow keys, and hit enter,

    Once you're in safe mode, go to start>programs>accessories>system tools>SCANDISK

    When it opens, check it to run in the 'thorough mode' and Check to fix errors 'automatically'
    See if you can get through that, it will take a long time, an hour maybe more,

    Post back any error messages,
    If it fails, try it in the 'Standard' mode,

    ---------

    After that while still in the 'safe mode' go back to;
    start>programs>accessories>system tools>Disk Degragmenter
    Start the program, it will also take a long time to finish,

    ----------------

    Now click on Start / Run / Msinfo32
    When the program opens, click on 'Tools' , then click 'Registry Checker' , let it run and see if the registry checks out ok, or if it is 'successfully repaired'

    While still in ' microsoft system information' look in the left pane and click the +sign for 'Components', scroll down and highlight 'Problem Devices' .......look in the right pane, are any problems listed?? Look for 'this device has a problem' in red,

    You can also back that check up by going to 'device manager' ,

    Right click on your 'my computer' desktop icon, then select 'properties' , then 'device manager' ,,,, look for any yellow exclamation marks, post any details,

    reboot your computer and test .......

    -------------

    If all of this fails to boot normally, use your 'system restore'

    Boot back into safe mode again,
    go to start>programs>accessories>system tools>system restore

    Select a 'date' before this problem started , enter, then reboot when prompted, and test,

    If you can't even get to the safe mode, you can use your 'emergency boot disk' to do all the above, but first try 'safe mode'

    :)
     
  5. Djas00

    Djas00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    147
    I am pretty sure that menu would have to come up after the windows me loading screen appears the first time but I guess I'll have to try it and see if it works because right now I have no other choices.
     
  6. Djas00

    Djas00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    147
    It seems that the hard drive was full of data errors so the only way I could fix it was to restore it.
     
  7. joe2cool

    joe2cool

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    So EVERYTHING ok !
     
  8. Djas00

    Djas00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    147
    Yeah everything is ok now although I have to reinstall a bunch of stuff back on the computer now.
     
  9. joe2cool

    joe2cool

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    CoOl ! :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217990

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice