Windows ME System Restore problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pker rocky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
40
My system restore is disabled right now, but when i try to enable it back, the check mark is always checked. That means i can't enable system restore back, its always disabled. Can someone help me?
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,056
Are you talking about right clicking My Computer > Properties > Performance > File System > Troubleshooting then unchecking "Disable System Restore" click "Apply" and "OK" and then restarting? It's important to click "Apply" and "OK" and then you will be asked to restart your system. If the check mark continues to appear after following the above, I would try to enable System Restore while you are in the Safe Mode.

When you do get System Restore enabled, be sure the *StateMgr is checked in the (msconfig) startup list.
 

pker rocky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
40
Ok, i enabled system restore. My computer runs extremely slow when system restore is enable though. Anything wrong?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
40
System Restore is junk, and you should be glad that it's disabled. Their are far better registry backup programs. Do a Google search for "registry backup" and you'll find them.

IMHO, System Restore/PCHealth is about equally responsible with IE 5.5 for most of the problems people have with ME.
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,056
pker rocky said:
Ok, i enabled system restore. My computer runs extremely slow when system restore is enable though. Anything wrong?
System Restore shouldn't slow down your system and perhaps you may have a virus or trojan that has caused the slow down.

Have you done a virus scan lately. Perhaps if you post a HijackThis log in your next post, someone will check to see if any bad registry entries are present.

Go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'HijackThis!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and paste it in your next post.

Most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
 

pker rocky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
40
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 10:22:40 AM, on 2/13/2005
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SUPPORT.COM\BIN\TGCMD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMON32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\EFFICIENT NETWORKS\ENTERNET 300\APP\ENTERNET.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/sbcydsl/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
O2 - BHO: AIM Helper - {D70E6A20-7060-4829-B3D7-B6624A1DE7C6} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM TOOLBAR\AIMHELPER.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: AIM Search - {40D41A8B-D79B-43d7-99A7-9EE0F344C385} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM TOOLBAR\AIMBAR.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [tgcmdprovidersbc] "c:\program files\support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /startmonitor /deaf /nosystray
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IPInSightMonitor 01] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMon32.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\MSMSGS.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\MSMSGS.EXE
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Login - {2499216C-4BA5-11D5-BD9C-000103C116D5} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMMON\YLOGIN.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Login - {2499216C-4BA5-11D5-BD9C-000103C116D5} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMMON\YLOGIN.DLL
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,056
There should be more entires on this log. The bottom part is missing. Try to post the whole log.
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,056
I have noticed that *StateMgr is not enabled in your startup list as I mentioned in Post#2, this needs to be Enabled for System Restore to function correctly. This may be your problem of a slow running system after you enabled System Restore with *StateMgr disabled, there may be a conflict with System Restore.
 

pker rocky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
40
Thats all the entries i have when i scan with hijackthis. Im aware that *StageMgr is not enabled. That is because i don't want to enable system restore. If i do, i'll enable *StateMgr. I prefer system restore to be disabled.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top