1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows ME tells me I have not enough memory

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by classicgamelover, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. classicgamelover

    classicgamelover Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    WindowsME tells me that I do not have have enough memory to run scandisk or Diskdefragmenter. I call bullsnot on this one. Its surly a bug! I have 1.5TB Hard Drive Disk on my WindowsME computer using 256MB or ram. I'm pretty sure its got plenty to work with but I think I need to adjust something or maybe install a patch or a fix to fix this issue. What do you think?:cool:

    The exact message I get is this:

    "ScanDisk could not continue because your computer does not have enough available memory. If any other programs are running, quit one or more of them, and then try running ScanDisk again."

    Scandisk, DiskDefrag, or WindowsME setup all give me this same error message.


    I type c:windows\options\cabs\setup.exe into the Run Command and when it starts to run the WindowsME setup, even this setup tells me the same message... so I can't even reinstall windowsME if I needed to do a repair or something.

    Is there a way I can correct this stupidity of the OS? If its a bug, (which I'm pretty sure it is), then I would like to know how to fix it for good. Thank You very much.:D

    And just so you all know I don't JUST USE old legacy OS's. I do use windows 7 and windows XP on other computer machines too. Its just this computer that's giving me this error is my DOS machine I use for DOS applications.
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,730
  3. classicgamelover

    classicgamelover Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Yeah i saw this, no this doesn't actually help me. this is basically microsoft's way of telling me to take a hike. If I don't got windows XP then they don't care. Which I do. But I'm not going to upgrade to XP on another machine that would be 6 computers that all have XP, 5 is enough! this computer needs to keep its WindowsME installation for reasons that I use it to run all my Dos-based programs and games. I need something that can fix this issue by installing it (a patch or a fix) or a command I could enter into the CMD I think. Obviously I was right it was a bug! anything above 8GB it said would throw this error. A whole 1.5TB's is beyond 32GB!!! Honestly, I hope someone has a fix for this. So does anyone else have any other suggestions?
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,730
    I was running Windows ME on a 20GB disk a few years back until I finally put Windows 2000 on it.
    You have to look at the cluster size as well.

    What makes you think your DOS programs won't run on Windows XP. I don't run too many pure dos programs but the ones I have run have run just fine.
     
  5. classicgamelover

    classicgamelover Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I'm a traditionalist. I have to run dos-based programs on an old crapper machine like ME or 98. Its just my pet-peeve I guess.
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,800
    The only fix for that is partition the disc so the OS partition is under 8gb
    I am surprised that ME even recognizes teh 1.5tb disc
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064230