1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Media Play wont properly play.wmv files, colour is messed

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Percey, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Percey

    Percey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Hey there.

    So I'm having a problem playing .wmv files on my system (it's not just WMP). Everytime I play a file with a .wmv extension, the file will play, with proper audio and everything, but the colour will be messed up, almost as if the player (could be WMP, Realplayer, Quicktime etc...) is playing in negative mode. I can't fix it even with codecs. I've downloaded numerous codec packs, codecs from Microsoft, third parties, everywhere, and I can't seem to fix it. This only happens with wmv files, mpg, avi, mpeg etc...all play perfectly.

    Running XP Pro

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Hutch12345

    Hutch12345

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    well you know more than i do, but im having the same problem, some videos are green/blue/orange and very choppy, i just posted a thread with the same problem, hoping for some answers
     
  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    For those with Nvidia drivers, i've found the problem with off-color videos is often fixed by the Nvidia "color correction" setting described here >>

    http://groups.google.com/group/micr...a+color++"windows+media+player"&rnum=10&hl=en

    On the other hand, "choppy" video (and sound) can be due to a degraded IDE controller.

    You can try the vbs script fix on the link below. You must right click on it, save it to the desktop or some convenient location. Run it, and give permission if prompted >>

    http://groups.google.com/group/micr...a+color++"windows+media+player"&rnum=10&hl=en
     
  4. Percey

    Percey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Yeah I don't have a Nvidia video card. I just checked it now and Im running a Radeon x6000
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If it's a recent problem with no obvious quick fix -- I always recommend trying a "system restore" to a date prior -- they can be undone if not helpful.
     
  6. Percey

    Percey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    No it's been happening for a while, if I were to system restore I would lose too much...:mad:
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You will only lose programs and updates that were installed subsequently -- no personal data -- nothing in My Documents.

    As I mentioned -- they can be "undone" as easily as they are done.

    Does your ATI display settings have an "overlay" adjustment that is not greyed out?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/646471

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice