Windows media Player 10 not on Add/Remove Programs list.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tony Burke

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
12
I have Windows XP Home /SP2.
I recently rolled back from Windows Media Player 11 to 10.
Media Player 10 seems to be working OK but does not appear on Add/Remove Programs list – even under XP Updates. Anyone know why this is or how to get it to show?
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
That's normal. It should show up in 'Add/Remove Windows Components'. As long as WMP 10 is working, you're OK.
 

Tony Burke

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
12
Thanks - It does indeed show in 'Windows Components'.
Good to get quick clear advice from a 'senior member'.
You wouldn't believe the complex replies I got from some other forums !! - then again maybe you would !! Thanks again
 

Tony Burke

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
12
PS to my previous message - some of the replies I received from other forums have raised a doubt in my mind as they seem to suggest that Windows Media Player (which does appear in the 'Add/Remove Windows Components' panel) should also appear on the main 'Change or Remove Programs' panel - (some have suggested under 'XP Updates'). Some of these replies have blinded me with science (or pseudo-science) about Registry changes etc. etc.
I suppose I should just ignore them and carry on with Windows Media Player working OK?
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
When I got my computer it had Windows XP with WMP 9, so at some point I updated to WMP 10 and in Add/Remove Programs with 'Show Updates' checked WMP 10 shows up under 'Windows XP - Software Updates'.

But I don't think it shows up if XP came bundled with WMP 10 when it was installed.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,711
No it doesn't show. As Stantley suggests only the upgrades show so you can go back. You can make it show via a registry change but I wouldn't go there if you are keeping it and it works fine.

Edit.
The 'show' I was refering are just a few more options in the windows components section, not a full show in the main add/remove programmes window. I just checked mine. It's been a while ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top