1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Media Player 9 missing home page

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Lyn Patterson, Feb 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Windows XP

    A friend has WMP9 and (while on the Internet) when he clicks on Media Guide, instead of the WindowsMedia.com home page coming up he gets a different page with not much on it.

    Therefore he has not got the normal menu down the left hand side allowing him access to News, Sports, Business, Entertainment etc etc.

    Is there some setting that needs to be activated/deactivated to allow him to use WMP normally?

    Thanks
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
  3. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Hi eddie

    That looks promising. Can't remember the exact address of the page that comes up - it looks like a media guide page but only has radio, music and video tabs on it along the top - not the normal menu on the left that includes News,Sports etc.

    Will check it out when next I visit in a few days- will post back and let you know. It is a peculiar problem - no-one seems to know why the normal home page doesn't come up.

    Thanks

    Lyn
     
  4. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Hi eddie

    The situation is this: When he opens WMP and clicks on MediaGuide, a page comes up (can't give you the address as it opens in WMP )- it has 4 tabs at the top: Home, Music, Radio and Video. At the right hand side of the page, near the top, it says WindowsMedia.com and underneath that, International. If he clicks on that, he gets the WindowsMedia.com home page in IE, not in WMP as I do (Windows98SE).

    Perhaps this is the way it happens in XP. He can then access all the features of WindowsMedia.com (News, Sports etc) but not via WMP,via IE.

    Is this what happens in XP? Perhaps there is nothing wrong - this is just what happens in XP.

    Lyn
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Okay

    Just asked someone with XP and WMP9, and he says its opened in WMP. I'll delve a little deeper now.

    eddie
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
  7. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    eddie

    Thanks for reply. I downloaded it for him but cannot remember exactly where. I know I downloaded the version for XP. I will be seeing him this week and will download from the site you suggested. Also don't know what happens when he is offline. Will check and post back.

    Lyn
     
  8. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    eddie

    Have delved a bit deeper. Think we may need input from someone who knows XP.

    Got into Add/Remove Programs and unlike Windows 98SE, there is another set of menus on the left hand side. I clicked on "Set Access and Default". This sounded promising and it revealed 3 options: MIcrosoft, Non-Microsoft and Custom. My friend's computer was set on Custom. It just listed the programs that were to be used for things like Emails, Internet Browser etc and included Windows Media Player. There were 2 options for each :Use my current program or ( and it listed the MS programs such as Windows Media Player). His was all set for" Use my current program" so I wanted to change it to Windows Media Player in case it made a difference. I clicked on WMP then on OK. There is no Apply button which I thought strange as usually there is if one is changing a setting.

    However, even though I re-booted, it continually went back to the original choice of "Use my current program" or words to that effect.

    Then I tried to change his setting from Custom to Microsoft as all the programs concerned are MS programs anyway. The same thing happened. I could not get my changes to stick. They kept reverting back to the original setting.

    I will post this problem in XP as we don't have it. I hope that is OK.

    Lyn
     
  9. mixx941

    mixx941

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    Hi. I'm not 100% sure on the cause, but here's my two cents:

    1. The "Set access and default" is a feature added in Windows XP Service Pack 1. I wouldn't think this is an issue.

    2. Earlier on in the thread you mentioned that it says "International" on the Windows Media page. Is he outside the US? Maybe the features are only available inside the US? (Not sure).

    3. I have gone through pretty much every menu, and I don't see anything about the Media Guide tab.

    I'll keep looking.

    -Mark
     
  10. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Hi Mark

    This is a little problem that so far NOBODY has been able to solve.

    We are in Australia but I don't think that matters as my WMP acts perfectly normally. When I am on the Internet, and open WMP, it opens on the WindowsMedia.com page as it should with the index of News, Sports, Entertainment etc down the left hand side.

    My friend has a different page altogether as I described in a previous post. He can only access the WM.com page from IE and not from WMP which is really strange. It is the latest version of WMP and I downloaded it for him to replace the previous version he had.

    Thanks

    Lyn
     
  11. mixx941

    mixx941

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    Hi. I just upgraded by Windows 2000 machine to XP Professional and I got a different screen than normal. I have attached it.

    You tell me if it looks similar to your friend's.

    If it does, there is a "Go To Media Guide" button.

    Thanks

    -Mark
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Hi Mark

    No, nothing like. His has 4 tabs for Home, Music, Radio and Video and none for News, Sports etc. As it happens I am seeing him today so I will take a snapshot of the screen and post it later.

    Thanks

    Lyn
     
  13. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Hi Mark

    Here is the screenshot:

    Lyn
     

    Attached Files:

    • wmp.jpg
      wmp.jpg
      File size:
      94.4 KB
      Views:
      217
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118405

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice